Alien: Covenant Review - WAY Better than Prometheus!

Comments: 127

  • Spencer King
    Spencer King 1 month ago

    "Covenant's largest miss-step" was creating a million plotholes in the Alien franchise

  • Milton Hunter
    Milton Hunter 1 month ago

    Prometheus was better.

  • Schlett Istvan
    Schlett Istvan 2 months ago +1

    Jimmy, I do not agree with you! Covenant is a bad movie. Is a bad Prometheus sequel and is a bad Alien sequel. Let me explain. Prometheus was a great idea, Ridley Scott wanted to start some sort of new franchise about the creators of the human race. The main question of the movie (or the trilogy) was ``Why are we here?``. Prometheus started to explore this new aliens called the engineers. The whole thing was fresh and felt not like a rehash of some 30 year old alien franchise. Does Covenant brings us closer to the answer to that question? NO. We get some answers, but very very few. I mean are you happy with the idea of David creating the xenomorph? We saw no live engineer in the movie, beside one scene. Do not fool ourselves. This is an alien movie, not a sequel to Prometheus. And all that was changed in hurry after Prometheus, because RS thought that Prometheus was not well received by the public. Prometheus had its flaws (dumb scientists, running forward and not sideway when the space jockey crashed etc) however its main idea was great and fresh. Bu guess what: in Convenant the flaws are not corrected. People still act dumb (hysterical blonde on the ship, no mask on the new planet just because there is oxygen, overpowered neomorph in one scene than easily killable in other, characters which separate stupidly from the crowd, stupid looking into the content of an egg just because David told him so, totally predictable David/Walter twist etc). If Prometheus had its problems, that just go and see Covenant. This movie does nothing new, it is basically a rehashing of Alien and Aliens. Because we saw that already 30 years ago, the element of surprise is just not there. How many times can someone blow in space the alien invading the ship?? The second thing was the horrible character development. Even if we meet a bunch of guys on the ship, we do not connect with any of them emotionally. The only more developed character in the movie beside David and Walter (their connection and interaction is great btw) is the captain of the ship who bitches about his authority making him more annoying. How many time can be in a franchise a ``strong female character``? See, some elements of the movie are just copy-pasted from something which we already experienced before, therefor the movie lacks the element of surprise. I would tell RS that If you started a Prometheus trilogy, just continue with that original idea, do not change it into an alien movie, just because alien fans are pissed. Improve the original movie! And then, perhaps just make a new alien movie, but please, do not just copy it from the older ones... Now, let me explain why David memorizing classical music and poetry was actually a cool stuff. David was created to serve Wayland and to help him in his obsession to find a cure for aging. He was built to be very curious and in time he realizes that he is a superior creature to his master (stronger, smarter, and immortal) and he is beginning to think of himself as a creator (a god) and a sensitive being. He actually believes that he feels love for Dr. Shaw. However, he admits that humans have an inner side which tries always to achieve perfection (he highly regards classical music composers and poets) and in some ways they achieve this by creation (let it be music, poetry or David itself - making him a narcissist). However, he was proven wrong by Walter, who corrects him about Byron and saying something that if in an equation there is an error, the whole equation is wrong. In english, David cannot be a perfect creature even if he creates life, because his believes are proven wrong. This scene was one of the best in the movie. Their philosophical and ethical ramble was one of the few great things in this flick.

  • Luke M
    Luke M 2 months ago +1

    OMG. I wish people would stop hating on Prometheus. It's not as bad as you all make it out to be

  • PaulPrinceArt
    PaulPrinceArt 2 months ago

    Thank you for the Alien: Covenant review. It looks like a good movie. I didn't like Prometheus at all though.

  • darth makala
    darth makala 2 months ago

    send a GAY couple in a space mission to colonize a planet ,that"s a fucking bullshittt and the must stupid thing and illogic i ever seen in my life. Alien covenant it"s a cliche to the first alien movie not more

  • Molasar
    Molasar 2 months ago +1

    I don't want the ideas from Prometheus left behind. I wanted a straight up Prometheus sequel with a deeper exploration of human origins, strange new worlds and new Aliens. David is one of the most fascinating characters ever put into an Alien film and I look forward to the path that Ridley Scott is taking him (and us) on.

    • Striker163
      Striker163 2 months ago

      But it does tho. In the same exact way Prometheus did. It's in the subtext of the film.


  • Jose
    Jose 2 months ago

    Any engineers?

  • ZadfrackGlutz Zesozose
    ZadfrackGlutz Zesozose 2 months ago

    Aliern Covernnarnt

  • capinkevey
    capinkevey 2 months ago

    Nice review, I enjoyed the movie as well and I'm glad to see it discussed. Just an FYI though, I believe the couple are Canadian, not american.

  • Raiders8189
    Raiders8189 2 months ago

    hwo the hell did u see this

  • Tower Review Films
    Tower Review Films 2 months ago

    So you don't like movies with any meaning, just shoot-em ups? The review I saw said, "the biggest disappointment of the year."

  • Haeden Couturier
    Haeden Couturier 2 months ago +3

    I can't be the only who loves Prometheus

    • Denis Lanza
      Denis Lanza 2 months ago

      Haeden Couturier You most definitely are not. I love Prometheus and wanted a true sequel to it.


    • Sniff Heinkel
      Sniff Heinkel 2 months ago

      You're not.


  • A McQ
    A McQ 2 months ago

    covenant is NOT the link up film to alien,there is to be at least 1 more prequel

  • Bucky Pinata
    Bucky Pinata 2 months ago +1

    Watching a Chia Pet grow is better than Prometheus......

  • Daniel Young
    Daniel Young 2 months ago

    THE XENOMORPHS DO NEW YORK huh?

  • Hollywood God
    Hollywood God 2 months ago

    DIE MUTHER FUCKER DIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • rui teixeira
    rui teixeira 2 months ago

    Jimmy i want to see the two prequels were can i see them ? thanks

    • rui teixeira
      rui teixeira 2 months ago

      Thanks Jimmy :)


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +rui teixeira They're on the FOX channel. One is called Last Supper and the other has a pic of the ship David and Shaw take at the end of Prometheus as a thumbnail. 👍🏼


  • Hustada
    Hustada 2 months ago +10

    I don't want Prometheus ideas left behind.

    • Tito Grillo
      Tito Grillo 2 months ago

      That's perfect! I love the thought provoking elements from Prometheus (and I think it is a great movie and piece in the Alien franchise), I just wished they were better handled by the end of the movie. If they do that in Covenant, it sounds to me that Covenant helps making Prometheus an even better installment. Getting more and more excited for this movie! Thanks for the review!


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +Hustada it's not! It's just handled better.


  • stuartgangsta
    stuartgangsta 2 months ago +2

    Sound and look like a homo.

  • DR Evil
    DR Evil 2 months ago

    you gave away a massive spoiler when you said about daniels and her fate

    • DR Evil
      DR Evil 2 months ago

      thats fixed it


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +DR Evil I mean, I guess. Don't want to say anymore but not is all as you think.


  • Kentleigh T.
    Kentleigh T. 2 months ago +1

    I loved Prometheus! That movie was really good, I don't know why it got such a bad rep. But I'm really glad to hear that this movie isn't going to be garbage!

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +Kentleigh T. I liked it too but this finds a better middle ground between Prometheus ideas and alien.


  • Rhensel88
    Rhensel88 2 months ago +13

    So what is everyone's problem with Prometheus. I know there was some dumb shit in it, but I fucking loved the idea of exploring where we came from. That to me is more important in my life than seeing a rehash of an old Alien film. I do hope they continue that story.

    • Rhensel88
      Rhensel88 2 months ago

      Hey man, why not have both? Oh wait, Alien Covenant comes out next week. haha. I have thought about what an Alien fan would think about Prometheus, and I get it now. I would have been greatly disappointed in Prometheus if I went to see it thinking it was a true Alien film. They had a lot of easter eggs in that movie, but I understand the letdown. I just really think the Engineer part of the story is interesting. I hope Covenant lives up to our expectations, but from what I have heard, they are really packing a lot of information into 2 hours. I hope that Ridley Scott wasn't lying when he said he wanted to make several more. We will soon find out.


    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      Rhensel88@, looks like you know your alien mythos as well, but keep in mind that some of us didn't want answers to the space jockey-creator-of-the-alien enigma. I prefer the mystery and to use my imagination. However, I can dig your point of view. Would have wanted Prometheus to succeed, not sure about other people but I had a serious problem with the supid shit people did in the movie. Bottom line, I want to see more gory tension inducing stuff in the horror department. If I want philosophical approaches, I'll write my own essay, book whatever:)) Have plenty of inspiration but still wouldn't spoonfeed the readers :D


    • Rhensel88
      Rhensel88 2 months ago

      Yes, I do understand Greek mythology, as well as many others. AVP was nothing more than a slasher/action flick where they took two separate franchises and combined them to make money. Nothing special about that. Prometheus came in from a fresher perspective. When I watched the first Alien, I really wanted to know more about the space jockey and why a perfect specimen like the xenomorph exists. The original plan was to have a few Prometheus sequels that took the story even further. The mythology behind the engineers is a belief system that Ridley Scott confessed to in a interview. On top of that, they were going to have another director make another Alien but the studio decided that they wanted Scott to do the sequel, and not about Prometheus. I am just curious as to where they would have taken Prometheus. And so you're saying that everyone's problem with Prometheus was the stupid shit people did in the movie? The whole biologist guy wanting to pet the "space cobra" was explained away in the deleted scenes. Not saying that makes it okay, but at least there was intended to be a little explanation to it.


    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      You kind of answered your own question. The idea and the execution of it are two different things my friend. BTW the exploration bs was also in AvP, nothing original about that and if you know some Greek mythos, well nothing special about Prometheus.


  • Paul
    Paul 2 months ago +1

    Great review, keep them coming!

  • Gordon Heaney
    Gordon Heaney 2 months ago

    Your video makes me feel so tall

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +Gordon Heaney haha I framed it odd. I'm 6,2!


  • International Art Projects

    Way too much Fassbender not enough Neomorphs.

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +International Art Projects lots of fassbender and lots of morphs


  • Adam Thomas
    Adam Thomas 2 months ago

    Nice review as alway! Also, I really like the typography from your thumbnails lately.

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +Adam Thomas thanks Adam! I appreciate that :D


  • Dan Iel
    Dan Iel 2 months ago +13

    Much better...the next one needs more porometheus and less gory action.

    • Djprojectus
      Djprojectus 2 months ago

      CrazyImmigrant Thats because majority of movies we have today are relying too much on action,blowing things up,racing cars and not enough in a complex plot.We are saturated with action films.


    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      Since the beginning of 2017 I've really liked one movie: Split. Watched Guardians of the galaxy vol 2 and Fate of the Furious to kill time. Kind of enjoyed Ghost in the shell. That's it. I mean look what movies we're getting.


    • Djprojectus
      Djprojectus 2 months ago

      CrazyImmigrant Much better but as it stands now it sound bulshit because it displease everybody .The ones that want gore scenes dont get enough and the ones that want more complex story, development of the mythos that started in Prometheus don get much as well.


    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      Bottom line is I am actually glad we get to see new alien movies. They could have buried it for good.


    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      Well, if they give away too much, where is the mystery. I want to use my imagination and not be spoonfed all the time. It's hard to please eveybody. Maybe if they made separate movies like 2 trilogies: Prometheus I, II, II and Alien 5, 6, 7 or something it would have been better.


  • AtlasUniverse
    AtlasUniverse 2 months ago +21

    Oh come on Jimmy. Prometheus was cool, at least I think so but I agree - Alien: Covenant is better and more interesting. Can't wait to see Alien: Awakening next year

    • PaulPrinceArt
      PaulPrinceArt 2 months ago

      Prometheus was trying too hard to be like Star Trek: First Contact and it turned out really boring.


    • Molasar
      Molasar 2 months ago

      Kane put his hand on an Alien egg with a creature clearly moving around inside, then he stood there while it opened in is face. Nostromo crew members chased a cat around the ship instead of leaving in the shuttle. Alien movies are high end slasher films and crew members making dumb decisions are par for the course. Look how many Colonial Marine screw ups Aliens had in it.


    • Sniff Heinkel
      Sniff Heinkel 2 months ago

      I haven't seen Alien Covenant yet but I agree. Prometheus is a really cool movie.
      People tend to dig into it and act like its a bad movie just because it didn't give them the answers they wanted about the Alien films. But heres the sequel that does give you your answers. You wouldn't have this movie and the answers you seek if Prometheus was never made so like, chill out people.


  • ganguly31
    ganguly31 2 months ago +1

    As you state the next sequel should not take another 5 years, that will be just two alien movies in a single decade. I would have to live all my life to know the answers.

    • ganguly31
      ganguly31 2 months ago

      Thats a Great News. Thanks


    • Djprojectus
      Djprojectus 2 months ago

      ganguly31 I read somewhere that he wants to do it in 2 years from now.From what i understood he allready started writing the script.


    • ganguly31
      ganguly31 2 months ago

      I hope to see the sequel Alien: Awakening asap, when is its release? an approximate time from your side?


    • Djprojectus
      Djprojectus 2 months ago

      ganguly31 Ridley is 80 years,i don't think he wants to wait another 5 years for the next.


  • Adam Martin
    Adam Martin 2 months ago +4

    So Daniels survives...

    • Pyramide Khéops
      Pyramide Khéops 2 months ago

      Will she die before the start of the next movie ...


    • EnglandIsMyCITY
      EnglandIsMyCITY 2 months ago

      Adam Martin it's pretty obvious she's the new ripley. But yah this guy is a bad reviewer for that blatant spoiler


    • Andrew Vaaler
      Andrew Vaaler 2 months ago

      I tried to un-hear that part... but what's done is done.


  • Jeffrey Betancourt
    Jeffrey Betancourt 2 months ago +1

    I have to know. Is the part where david drops the canisters onto the planet in the trailers does that make it into the movie?

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      Jeffrey Betancourt Bits and pieces from the two prequel shorts make it in.


  • 진아톰
    진아톰 2 months ago +3

    Is Dr shaw an alien queen??

  • Trestan Emperor
    Trestan Emperor 2 months ago

    Did they name the star system where Paradise is located ?

  • Trestan Emperor
    Trestan Emperor 2 months ago

    So Daniels survive ommmm

    • Trestan Emperor
      Trestan Emperor 2 months ago

      I watched them all and if you mean the one where Daniels talking with Walter when she is white plaster like clothes, then I've seen it too


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      Trestan Emperor Watch the prequel shorts before seeing this. Important info in those.


  • C McEwan
    C McEwan 2 months ago

    Should we, the rest of society, temper our expectation of better future under the auspices of millennials bloated with puerile opinion? It seems obvious, Jimmy, you should study music beyond your headphones and personal library. Maybe then you'd be capable of reporting a persuasive reason for making edits to a film that requires a little more attention than most millennials can muster.

    • CrazyImmigrant
      CrazyImmigrant 2 months ago

      Corvus@ you seem smart. we don't need your kind around here. U take our jobs


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      C McEwan OR maybe a filmmaker should recognize that one section of his film has a completely different, jarring tone than any other scene and said section should be removed for the sake of better pacing and trimming of fat that reeks of laughable self righteousness.

      But hey, what do I know. I'm just a professional critic who was invited to view the film in advance.


    • Corvus
      Corvus 2 months ago

      Wow, accusing someone of puerile opinion by way of puerile opinion. Way to not be a condescending piece of shit, asshole. The very fact that you fail to see the difference between genuine philosophical musings, and pretentious navel gazing is exactly what makes you way dumber than you think you are - perfectly characteristic of baby boomers in a nutshell, and emblematic of why your generation fucked the entire world for every subsequent generation.
      Go give yourself an uppercut.


  • Dick Deepinsideher
    Dick Deepinsideher 2 months ago

    Cant wait to see this movie!!!

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      Dick Deepinsideher Let me know what you think, dude!


  • Captain Uterus Mongrel
    Captain Uterus Mongrel 2 months ago +1

    Thanks for your review!

    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      +sean bowman lol you haven't even seen the movie. You have no idea what you're talking about.


    • sean bowman
      sean bowman 2 months ago

      Jimmy Champane prometheus was a far superior movie to this mess this is nothing bit a rehash stop with the dick riding this movie is not that great


    • Jimmy Champane
      Jimmy Champane 2 months ago

      Captain Uterus Mongrel You got it!


  • George Fresard
    George Fresard 2 months ago +1

    dat tee shirt doe where you get dat

Analyse website