Alien: Covenant reviewed by Mark Kermode

Comments: 1 045

  • Pete W
    Pete W 15 days ago

    Can't wait for the Legend prequel

    :)

  • PurushaDesa
    PurushaDesa 16 days ago

    I liked it more than Prometheus just like I enjoyed Resurrection more than 3. Less philosophical fussing about and just make a fun popcorn film.

  • SynthZ
    SynthZ 17 days ago

    By far the worst Alien movie, nothing made sense, what a joke..

  • Denstoradiskmaskinen

    Great movie, love the exploration bits, the dialogues with between David and Walther were also a joy!
    Im frustrated with the radio / video interference.. sure i guess i storm on another planet could.. but its annoying to have so much focus on it, a scene of it, sure.. over and over again and again... annoying!

    The end... mothership granted root access to Walther:
    When the last alien emerged, mother told the captain immediately, naturally..
    Why didnt mother inform the captain that a old robot is onboard?
    Even my Windows installation informs me if i plug my USB mouse into another socket :D

  • Harry Baskets
    Harry Baskets 29 days ago

    As weird a reference as this will sound, the Hellraiser series has this exact problem, especially with its first sequel, Hellbound. The Cenobite characters (Pinhead and co.) are like the crashed space jockey creature in Alien; incidental, not the point of the film at all. The character of Frank is like the Xenomorph - he's the real horror, and the intended point of interest. The family's secrets and strains and the grimy human drama that accompanies it all is like the grubby, down-to-earth crew in Alien, each beset upon by an otherworldly danger skulking around in the dark.

    Hellbound is all about the backstory of the Cenobites, and its so forced and badly written that it's little more than people explaining the backstory to each other in real-time with a sudden, out-of-the-blue level of insight and intuition that you just can't take seriously. Keep in mind, too, that the sequel takes places mere hours after the original film, yet the first film's baffled and terrified characters are now experts in all things Hell and all of the dialogue is basically some first year philosophy/theology student's blog. Prometheus, anyone?

    Some things are best left in the "unknowable and eternally mysterious" compartment of the viewer's mind.

  • no hassle
    no hassle Month ago

    Alien Covenant was pretentious, dumb, unoriginal, dull and just pointless.

  • jaye see
    jaye see Month ago

    'Alien Penetration' starring Ron Jeremy is a classic.

  • jaye see
    jaye see Month ago

    Is Sigourney Weaver dead yet? I hope so.

  • Alex Delarge
    Alex Delarge Month ago

    Life was much better than Alien. Covenant was okay, but often boring.

  • Qhorin Halfhand
    Qhorin Halfhand Month ago

    I couldnt tell who was the Android in this one! Please give us actual characters next time.

  • WarlockofWords Channel

    Should've gone with Neil Blomkamp's idea. Since Covenant deservedly flopped so hard, maybe they should take a chance on him instead.

  • Pavan Bhatia
    Pavan Bhatia Month ago

    It was a great movie better then Prometheus.

  • David C
    David C Month ago

    Kermode's an art-house movie snob. Alien Covenant wasn't made for people like him. It was made for folks who like horror movies. Kermode should stick to French avant-garde movies so he can watch them and feel smugly superior to everybody else. This is a guy employed by the Guardian and the BBC ffs. He has no credibility with mainstream audiences.

  • Edward Rolling
    Edward Rolling Month ago

    Is that Chris Pachkam?

    • Kay Owe
      Kay Owe Month ago

      N o, M ark Lamarr


  • Adam Johnson
    Adam Johnson Month ago

    When i think of this movie as a sequel to Prometheus i really like it. When i think of it as a prequel to Alien i dont.

  • John Herzog
    John Herzog Month ago

    Great review.

    On a separate note, it's 2017 and your videos are in 480p. Not sure why that is, but it would behoove you to up the quality a bit. Mark, I'd also find someone who will actually get you in focus. You've been blurry for months now.

  • laurence boyce
    laurence boyce Month ago

    jar jar is the key to all this...

  • Bear B
    Bear B Month ago

    You're absolutely right!

  • Marc Donnellan
    Marc Donnellan Month ago

    Hope Ridley Scott has got some aloe vera coz he just got burned!!

  • Norm Babbitt
    Norm Babbitt 2 months ago

    I agree! Where did the grand vision go? Yes, a bad script and dialogue and cynical in a really bad way. Kind of ruined Alien and Aliens and even Prometheus, for me. Too much exposition, too! And yes, so many ripoffs of other Alien movies!

  • Krissy Mark Lewis
    Krissy Mark Lewis 2 months ago

    It actually kinda cheapens and takes away from the franchise knowing the backstory.

  • Yatsura2
    Yatsura2 2 months ago +1

    2017: _"I dont need everything explained to me!"_
    2012: _"Nothing makes any sense and nobody understands anything."_
    Ay lmao

  • Ynse Schaap
    Ynse Schaap 2 months ago

    A bad rehash of Alien

  • craig howarth
    craig howarth 2 months ago +1

    just a pompous prick.

  • Lamkin91
    Lamkin91 2 months ago +1

    couldn't agree more. saw the original again recently, hard to believe it was from the same director.

  • Johnny Skinwalker
    Johnny Skinwalker 2 months ago

    I wanted to see the Engineers and the origin of man, instead we got a rehash of the first Alien(79). W T F

  • SpeedBoost
    SpeedBoost 2 months ago +1

    It's a good thing that humans don't have a type of waxy plug that constantly self reproduces in their ears in order to protect their inner ear from being entered by any outside element.

    I mean if that bit of simple human biology was true then that would make one of the catalysts for this movie absolutely implausible and beyond moronic.

  • defection
    defection 2 months ago

    I'm watching this with my mates, everything hat mark is saying is true to the story, so much has been overlooked and left behind, my friend just shouted 'yes!!!' because mark said that the main bits have been left out of his movie, its a compilation f cool bits from alien...

  • SpikeXtreme
    SpikeXtreme 2 months ago

    How did the landing and leaving of the Planet have anything to do with Aliens ?...They landed and left( in a hurry),the building wasn't about to explode.

  • Andy Stevenson
    Andy Stevenson 2 months ago

    Spot on Mark. The least relevant thing about Alien is the back story. Ridley Scott has overthought the entire Alien universe and ultimately undermined his original movie.

  • Grant Finding
    Grant Finding 2 months ago

    RS is a worldbuilder , strewth haha

  • jslasher1
    jslasher1 2 months ago +1

    Would you kindly drop all those 'you know' filler words. They only succeed in making you look stupid, which is exactly what you are.

  • Happyas Hell
    Happyas Hell 2 months ago

    I can't be the only one who actually enjoyed Alien: Covenant. Can I?

  • SteveRes
    SteveRes 2 months ago

    How was there a sense of "coincidence" in the 1979 Alien film? During their journey home the crew were deliberately sent on a different course by Weyland-Yutani, to investigate the beacon and for Ash to recover the xenomorph. That is clearly stated in the film. I respect peoples differing opinions on movies but get your facts right before you start criticising things you know nothing about.

  • Keyser Soze
    Keyser Soze 2 months ago +2

    There was no "random intersection" in Alien.  The nostromo was deliberately sent there with the intention of retrieving a Xenomorph, with the ship's computer and an android posing as a human under orders to sacrifice the crew if necessary to achieve that.  It still has yet to be explained who back on earth orchestrated all this, but someone on earth already knows about these creatures.  I don't doubt that Kermode is a fan of the first film, but he sure wasn't paying much attention to it.

  • MrRobynLover
    MrRobynLover 2 months ago

    Clumsy and strangely disjointed. Thats my review of A:C not of Kermodes review lol

  • Peter Smith
    Peter Smith 2 months ago

    What you mean is, there is a point were you edit your own movie so much, that your left with a weak movie!

  • Chris H
    Chris H 2 months ago

    the postmodern condition: incoherence

  • evan smith
    evan smith 2 months ago

    Thank you Mark for not Pandering like so many reviewer who on their climb to bigger things feel the need to make favourable reviews to curry favour the the producers or directors of a movie.
    The amount of bad reviews of this movie ranks alongside Fant4stic .
    People who totally love a franchise hate the way it is being destroyed by the company.
    I love Ridley Scott films Alien Blade runner gladiator black hawk down .
    but he is intent on destroying this franchise.
    The only way he will stop is by us the public being honest.
    Prometheus was silly but I loved the end and the theme of
    the movie , hoping it would be examined in AC but it is tossed away and reduced to an embarrassing rehash .
    5 out of 10 because I cannot unsee this film.

  • diggydaz2007
    diggydaz2007 2 months ago

    Couldn't agree more!!

  • Spike EP
    Spike EP 2 months ago

    I suspect James Franco's jarring remark about being religious (we still don't know which ONE..) will seem far less ridiculous in an extended cut which places it in context, because Mark is right, as it is, he says it, it comes out of nowhere and absolutely nothing seemingly comes of it.

    But it is important, because it continues the theme of Prometheus, whereby Dawkinist NeoDarwinist ridicule of religious faith and radical atheism has taken over human science and the first extra-solar human colonialism to such an extent that it's considered a major career impediment (he only become Captain due to an Act of God, but he's too angsty and self-involved to notice), to the extent that religious people are *distrusted*).

    Which is precisely why David reasons he has to kill God and create The Devil to teach Mankind some humility and spare the rest of the universe from us, as Godless Atheistic Colonial Empire-Builders - a Virus with Shoes, in other words, a plague of locusts.

    And Dawkins' The Selfish Gene is cited in the credits, so I am not guessing or grasping at straws, with this analysis of the Radical Atheism Critique.

    The Engineers WORSHIPPED the Black Goo.

  • Spike EP
    Spike EP 2 months ago

    I think everyone has missed the point here - David, on behalf of The Robots created The Devil and killed the gods to save the galaxy from a colonising human race of godless nihilistic atheists.

    The Robots are a cult of Electric Monks - Space Jesuits.

    Ash, Bishop, Call, David - these are all names associated with religious worship. Call is even an actual observant Christian.

    And then you have Walter (Disney) - who was designed not to have any creativity or imagination.

    Which is why he is incapable of besting his Great-Grandfather droid, King David, Killer of Giants, Bringer of Light, the Fabulous Blonde Beast, the Bright and Morningstar.

    "The Company" isn't in charge, The Company was *never* in charge - The Robots were stage managing the whole saga the whole time.

    ESPECIALLY Bishop - "If we are kind, it will be a kind World."

  • Adrian Clarke
    Adrian Clarke 2 months ago

    Spot on Mark. A real shame. I can't believe that this was the best script out there for an Alien movie. It was like many Sci-Fi/fantasy films these days - pretty but dumb. A lesson in how to alienate (sorry) a hitherto loyal fan base and undermine the mystery of the wider canon. I'd rather Fox had given the money to Neill Blomkamp.
    Ridley, you seem to be in it for the money now but nonetheless after you've hired the FX team and Marketing dept. can you also remember to hire a screen writer. And preferably one with an IQ beyond single digits. All in all, not credible and annoyingly lazy.

  • Spike EP
    Spike EP 2 months ago

    The key to understanding where this, and Prometheus fit in with The Original Trilogy (for we must now call it that) is to realise that it's NOT all about The Company (though The Company may think it to be so) - it's about the robots.

    And the robots, starting with David 8, are Space Jesuits.

    The Electric Monk from Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency.

    (Almost) everyone in The Future are atheists - and since The Devil does not exist, they decide to create him.

  • Sam Hankins
    Sam Hankins 2 months ago

    This is the most coherent review I've encountered that makes perfect sense of why this film is fatally broken.

  • tim yo
    tim yo 2 months ago

    terrible movie. 1 out of 5

  • Enzo
    Enzo 2 months ago

    ffs simon mayos still alive? ill check back in a year

  • AgtX999
    AgtX999 2 months ago

    Its just like the Star wars reboots/sequels. They take the original films as a base &  try to disguise them but essentially the plot & everything is identical. So they took Alien & Aliens films & tried to knit them into 1. You got the Alien plot on the ship, distress beacon, guy stupidly activates the egg. Then once back on the mother ship, they go full "Alien". Quarantine, mental android, Alien tail between the womans legs shot, trapping the alien in the vents/corridors. then they take the airlock sequence & turn it up to 11 needlessly, it looks like a shot from a transformers movie. Then Aliens style, colonists!, sort of marines with guns trying to find out whats going on, getting attacked by aliens, alien gets on board the escape ship & instead of the power loader, they have the crane thing .The use the Alien/Aliens music.David sustained an injury to his chin when he got stabbed with that nail thing, where did that go cause he had to mend all his other facial damage, the captain would have noticed it. Im not happy with what happened to Shaws story & I expected a bit more from the whole bit where David dropped the bomb on the engineer planet. A lot of the other moments in the film were really cliché. Where did those eggs come from? don't those need to be layed by a queen?I doubt id go out of my way to watch this film again & that says it all for me. If the guy who made the original cant make a solid Alien film then I doubt anyone can. I suspect the studios maybe interfered in what Scott would have liked, I was looking forward to a Prometheus sequel & we got a weird mutant reboot alien film. I would be really surprised if this was Ridleys vision for this film & not what studio execs wanted.

  • Nautilus1972
    Nautilus1972 2 months ago

    I thought it was great.

  • John Ottaway
    John Ottaway 2 months ago

    "The da Vinci Code in space" - perfect

  • Aquatic Borealis
    Aquatic Borealis 2 months ago

    The original alien film was a work of art. The 2nd alien film was a roller coaster ride. It was not nearly as good but still fun. The rest should be forgotten. Prometheus should have completely rid itself of the Alien back story amd yeah it was aterrible script full of inane dialogue and silly plot contortions. Covenant sounds like the same. I won't go see it.
    So many iconic films of the past are being dredged up and should just be left alone. Make new movies. Some new and interesting. Stop trying to milk the original art.

  • bobbydylanio
    bobbydylanio 2 months ago

    I thought it was all worth it for the end, which was exceptional.

  • captaincomps
    captaincomps 2 months ago

    The real question is has Ridley Scott made any truly good films since Alien and Blade Runner? For decades he has been turning out the most tired and annoying films that are more concerned with box office than artistic integrity. Nowadays it's a genuine surprise if he directs anything that is halfway decent, so let's not pretend that Alien Covenant should be any different in that respect. Perhaps he's like so many directors that produce unique distinctive work early in their career and then, as if they have developed amnesia, forget how their process worked and start churning out sub standard studio dross.

  • Edward Brennan
    Edward Brennan 2 months ago

    Just back after avoiding pretty much all discussion and Mark nailed it, this isn't just an unwieldy mess, it actively harms the sense of awe and mystery of the original film, and actually makes the folks in Prometheus look smart.

  • Pranavanathan Yoganathan

    the movie would be much more enjoyable if the "scientists" characters would stop making stupid decisions or making the worst possible choices.

  • hieronymus b
    hieronymus b 2 months ago

    It wasn't bad though

  • sabirsal
    sabirsal 3 months ago

    Kermode is complaining that its too similar to Alien... while complaining that its not similar enough to Alien.
    Hes way to prescious about the property to be objective about it.
    Its scifi horror in space with cool monsters guns and guts.
    if you like that then exposition aside you'll like the flic.

  • sunnygirly2k4
    sunnygirly2k4 3 months ago

    Oh gosh, more worse than even the colossal disappointment that was Prometheus? Shame. Seems HW can't do sci-fi horror any more or something and Ridley continues his decline into pseudo-Lucas territory.

  • cne1975
    cne1975 3 months ago +1

    Kermode is the only movie reviewer who is worth listening to

  • C1V1L WAR
    C1V1L WAR 3 months ago

    Did you know when Darth Vader was an 8 year old kid he built C3P0 in his bedroom? The monolith from 2001 is actually an intergalactic vending machine. Unfortunately the bananas are out of stock.

  • Brian O'Shaughnessy
    Brian O'Shaughnessy 3 months ago

    Hmm. Do we really need to keep comparing this to the original Alien? IMHO almost all films would come out badly in comparison! If anything, it should only be compared to its predecessor Prometheus. Some people like the mystery of Alien, some people actually dont too. I always wondered what the hell was going on in the original Alien, and thats great, no problem for me. But, for some of us, the prequels are an intelligent and interesting take on the franchise.

  • Brendan Byrne
    Brendan Byrne 3 months ago +1

    I actually really like Covenant.

  • Dylan Monroe
    Dylan Monroe 3 months ago +1

    Well, hes being really nice about. "i left with a heavy heart", you can just say it sucked.

  • Nat Palazzo
    Nat Palazzo 3 months ago +1

    Kermode is being too polite.

  • H1RFULT
    H1RFULT 3 months ago +1

    I acc thought 'Life' was way more thrilling and a bit more a plot. This film was literally a alien concept in the most simplest form.
    A bunch of people reaching a planet getting infected and then scouring back to safety

  • jononejon
    jononejon 3 months ago

    Can we talk about the awful CGI as well please? The man in the suit from 1979 is infinitely scarier than these computer generated abominations jumping around with their stage spotlights shining on them for all to see.

  • Tyler Durden
    Tyler Durden 3 months ago

    Where did David get the scissors from?!

  • Adam Freedman
    Adam Freedman 3 months ago

    this wasn't unexpected because the script for Prometheus was pretty bad too. there's no real interesting story development, its just half-thought ideas that don't coalesce into anything interesting

  • Richard C.
    Richard C. 3 months ago

    I also thought that it was silly. A silly horror film that is too much of a regurgitation of a lot of the previous alien films.

  • Radiant Thinker
    Radiant Thinker 3 months ago

    Mark Kermode's feelings about this film is how I feel about the constant stream prequels, belated sequels and remakes. It goes on and on, very depressing. Now Blade Runner is on the horizon.  I'm guessing Mark Kermode will be saying similar things about it. If I was a film critic, I think I would be on Prozac, to deal with such worthless garbage.

  • Dad Papa
    Dad Papa 3 months ago +1

    Ridley Scott is the next George Lucas, where he started something great and original with Alien, James Cameron follow masterfully with Aliens but now they’re going back and do prequels like Star Wars did. I must said not as bad but it does under mind the original 2 films …

    I actually do like Prometheus as standalone movie and heavily referenced to Ancient Aliens… but they should have keep it separate from the Alien franchise.

  • Matt Red
    Matt Red 3 months ago

    2020: Jaws: Creation. The backstory of a failure of sea man who creates the ultimate shark!

  • Anna Heberer
    Anna Heberer 3 months ago

    I enjoyed Prometheus, I found it very entertaining and watchable. I just watched it knowing that it wasn't an Alien sequel and I readily gave in to the mythology it cracked open, leaving plenty of space for individual interpretation and speculation. I couldn't understand all the vitriol spewed over things people otherwise seem to tolerate in other blockbusters. Covenant left me feeling like it was only made to appease the Prometheus haters, spelling everything out (both verbally and visually) without a hint of mystery or subtlety. I was even underwhelmed by the actual art of filmmaking in it: the score annoyed me with its bluntness, the action scenes lacked suspense, there were far too many unintentionally funny moments and awe-inducing moments were extremely rare for a sci-fi film. There was only one scene in it that I found intriguing and it was the one with David unloading the deadly cargo over the Engineering folk in a flashback. The glimpse of their civilisation in its heyday, the intricate shapes of their spaceships connecting in mid-air, the sense of impending doom: to me it was an all too-short teaser for a film I would've preferred to watch over Alien: Covenant.

  • Papa Burgundy
    Papa Burgundy 3 months ago +1

    Covenant was amazing

  • Zod's snapped neck
    Zod's snapped neck 3 months ago

    Its refreshing knowing that space doesn't have a shortage of lone short-haired heroines.

  • Stephane Gosselin
    Stephane Gosselin 3 months ago

    Excellent review, don't try to undo Alien and Aliens, no one can hear you scream in Space, Prometheus was really interesting, we are not alone, Alien Covenant, is a letdown, should have been better!

  • Greg
    Greg 3 months ago +2

    Sir Ridley Lucas

  • Wrestling Titan
    Wrestling Titan 3 months ago

    Disappointing movie. Really don't know how they managed to mess it up.

  • BB GG
    BB GG 3 months ago +1

    I understand where Mark is coming from. But its still a class above most big budget movies these days. I really enjoyed it.

  • QueensLadyDay
    QueensLadyDay 3 months ago

    Excellent review!

  • Flubert McMichaelson
    Flubert McMichaelson 3 months ago +1

    I'm confused how Kermode can make a big deal about certain elements of Covenant being ripped off of Aliens, yet fails to gives The Force Awakens the same treatment.

    • BB GG
      BB GG 3 months ago

      Because he holds the the films/director in much higher regard. He expects to quality film making in this.


  • Dan Smith
    Dan Smith 3 months ago

    I'm face palming haven't even watched it

  • jibberjabberman
    jibberjabberman 3 months ago

    just back from bfi imax, interesting review

  • Hubert Van Calenbergh
    Hubert Van Calenbergh 3 months ago

    I'ts a shame the film is so universally loathed. While not the best of the franchise, I certainly enjoyed myself. A pity Noomi Rapace had to go, for THERE was a red-blooded heroine . . .

    • BB GG
      BB GG 3 months ago

      its not universally loathed.


  • Bob56565
    Bob56565 3 months ago +1

    I thought it was good

  • Malt454
    Malt454 3 months ago

    Fassbender, doing some heavy channeling of Olivier, not only plays the two smartest characters in the movie - he also plays the only two characters who can remotely BE considered smart. As a movie, this is better than Promethus in terms of the answers it provides, but it still makes as little sense in terms of most characters' choices. Technology, training and intelligence can GET you to space but, inevitably, fails humanity ONCE you get there.

  • TheSlacky775
    TheSlacky775 3 months ago

    everything he said is true people were laughing at the dialog at the showing I went to. and about 6 people got up and left the cinema the film is stupid the characters are completely forgettable except for David /Walter. Michael Fassbender must have put a clause in his contract to say he would be the sole focus for all the new films in the alien franchise

  • B1001 D
    B1001 D 3 months ago +2

    I understand Marks points completely and agree with them to some extent. However I really enjoyed the film.

    • 92680BOYD
      92680BOYD 3 months ago

      I think, both "Prometheus" and "Covenant" are more about David, especially with him coming into his own as being who can think for himself and "create" his own version of life. That's what I at least got from both films, but the films themselves they don't actually promote it that way, it's being promoted more on the back drop of the Xenomorphs, which is just a selling point.


  • BuckMurdock
    BuckMurdock 3 months ago

    Just make "Jaws in Space" again, says AC haters. How'd that work out for Jaws Franchise? How dare Ridley aspire to make something more. Kermode is a bitter critic.

  • TheTowerBridgeFox
    TheTowerBridgeFox 3 months ago

    I just saw this film,
    I rate the original Alien as one of the best science fiction films ever made.

    I largely agree with the review except I thought the philosophical discussion at the start between fasbender and his creator was the best bit,

    The weakness of the film was in the casting of the crew of the ship( fasbender was the only good character,

    Stillted script.

    the action sequence at the end was only technically good, it had no dramatic dynamism and left one feeling unmoved.

    Which just about sums up the whole film.

    also the use of parts of the Music from the original Alien sound track forced one to make to direct a comparison

    And just served to remind one that The cast were no match to the brilliant Sigourney Weaver.and John hurt.

    This film is a prequel in the derogatory sense.

  • Texus8
    Texus8 3 months ago +3

    Love hearing Kermode's opinions but I personally really enjoyed Covenant. I'm also a huge fan of the original Alien and to me the backstory that Scott is creating here in no way undermines the original movie and xenomorph because it doesn't really change the nature of the creature as being this highly evolved "perfect organism". So the story of the humans randomly intersecting with this terrifying thing in Alien still holds just as it did before.

    I'm also a little surprised that more people haven't mentioned the connection of these new Alien movies, and Covenant in particular, to Blade Runner. The themes that Scott is exploring in the Alien universe now are very similar and reminiscent of that movie. I really like this direction because while Alien is great in its simplicity, it was also pretty formulaic and would've been boring for Scott to just repeat the same simple story, so I'd rather he try to expand the universe in new ways.

    One criticism of Covenant that I think is valid is that the characters and cast are not particularly engaging. Just rewatched the original before going into Covenant and the dynamic of the crew is a big part of what makes that movie work so well. I actually thought the characters were engaging in Prometheus too, and by contrast the Covenant's crew is very bland. Part of this could be the story, since a key event right at the beginning sets a pretty bleak tone.

    Anyways, I'd highly recommend it, but it seems like it will be divisive just like Prometheus.

    • B1001 D
      B1001 D 3 months ago

      Completely agree.


  • dONALD42
    dONALD42 3 months ago

    I'm surprised Kermode was not bothered by the dumb and illogical things the characters did in both Prometheus and Alien: Covenant. At least I have never heard him saying that.

  • mellowman1001
    mellowman1001 3 months ago

    You can find the "Making of (Alien)" documentary here on YouTube. After I watched that earlier this year, I thought Ridley Scott was a bit of a hack, who took credit for other people's work and whose main contribution was to 'skin' the movie. Prometheus validated my opinion, Alien Covenant even more so.

  • Neil Thompson
    Neil Thompson 3 months ago +2

    i loved Alien Covenant and Promtheus before it. Dont know why you thought it doesnt make sense ..... not confusing at all.

  • Nathan Drake
    Nathan Drake 3 months ago +1

    Just watched it and I thought it was great.

  • Marc Edwards
    Marc Edwards 3 months ago

    Just came home from watching this film really disappointed and ranted at my wife for 5 minutes that the more we are told about the alien, the less scary the alien actually becomes and about how RS may build great worlds but he's just forgotten how to make anything interesting happen inside them. Then I watched King Kermode's review and feel oddly at peace that the great man had a similar reaction to the film. Going to watch Aliens this evening as a tonic!

  • Andrew Gwilliam
    Andrew Gwilliam 3 months ago

    I'm tempted to go and see this somewhere cheap, if only to be almost unique in having seen this but not "Prometheus"!

  • American Citizen1
    American Citizen1 3 months ago

    another let down movie. very disappointing.

  • Dr PayneX
    Dr PayneX 3 months ago

    Covenant isn't great but is quite a bit better than Prometheus for me.

Analyse website