Alien Resurrection MOVIE REVIEW

Comments: 43

  • Destiny Captain
    Destiny Captain 2 days ago

    This one is a parody of the source material.

  • David Hewitt
    David Hewitt 9 days ago

    I actually liked Winona Ryder in this. Well, I thought she was sexy/adorable as robot girl. I find boyish women with tight chests hot. I probably wasn't considering her acting skills when I watched this.

  • PerrySport
    PerrySport 11 days ago

    Love watching resurrection on a rainy sunday with my girl. Go to bed, pop it in , shut off brain and enjoy the gore, comedy, goofy characters and over the top action. Movie never fails to make us laugh. Cast is pretty good too. Sigourney, Wincott, Perlman, Orser, Ryder. Weird casting but it works.

    Saw Covenant in theaters. No interest in ever seeing it again.

  • TrangleC
    TrangleC 11 days ago

    It doesn't happen often that I agree in detail with a critic, but I pretty much feel the same about this movie. I'm European (German) and this movie felt too French for me. Especially the way that hairy general or captain of the ship or whatever he is, was played, seemed straight out of one of those French comedies from the 60s and 70s my grandma was always watching and thus introduced me to.
    In general the movie is just uncomfortable and unpleasant, like someone with BO standing too close to you in an elevator.

    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  11 days ago

      I feel like he knew the script was shit and the studio was making a cash crab, so he decided to go as crazy and weird as possible without limiting himself like he normally would.


    • TrangleC
      TrangleC 11 days ago

      But why would he do that?


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  11 days ago

      I have this weird theory that the director was trying to make a terrible movie.


  • big mike
    big mike Month ago

    I hate this movie. It is not better than Alien 3. It doesnt take itself seriousky, in fact, I would go so far as to call it a farce by a director, though talented, didn't take the material seriously & I thought it was really miscast. The creature is sort of overexposed. You see it swimming & shit. IDK. Nuf bout this crap. Ripley was fucking dead as per her request in Alien 3 & it exploited an overused sci fi cliche of cloning to return her to the series. I just watched Blomkamps short ZYGOTE. THANKS FOR TURNING ME ON TO HIS SHORTS. If Im wrong, I'll admit it. Blomkamp no longer needs to make a District 10 to justify his making an Alien film. In fact, to watch this guy who was so obviously influenced by the original Alien & its perfected brand of sci fi horror & deny him a shot is a fucking shame because I now am 100% convinced after watching Zygote that he is the ' new blood' the franchise needs. I have no doubt he would get the franchise back on track.BTW. The title Resurrection is dumb but its not just referring to Ripleys return but if you watch closely the filmmakers actually used some of Goldsmiths original Alien score & replicate the look of the original Alien with some of the sets, the doors, corridors & shit like that to try & re capture the original tone & feel of Alien. They failed. I hate this movie. Oh, Ebert actually said after his review of Dune that ' you have to be really talanted to make a truly disastrous film', which I agree with & there's always entertainment factor in watching a train wreck

    • big mike
      big mike Month ago

      Renaissance Men Yes. Its such a bixarre mix. I actually liked the 1st 30 min. or so about the the mercenaries delivering this mysterious cargo to a military ship in unregulated, deep space so they could indulge some clandestine experiments & really thought it might bed going somewhere. I like Douriff too. Any original cast member of One who Flew Over the Cucus Nest is always gonna be a good thing in my book. But then, it turned into something else. Something unexplainable & truly bizarre. IDK. Whatever it was, it wasn't good. That I do know


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  Month ago

      It would explain the insanity of some scenes.


    • big mike
      big mike Month ago

      Renaissance Men IT'S POSSIBLE. I mean Im no font of knowledge when it comes to Jeanaut but I kmow enough about him to know he was & still is considered a real talent & he's European. Europeans are diffetent & have different motivations & ideas about film. He may have got the script & , after realizing how truly awful it was & that there was absolutely, exactly 0 chance of making a good ' serious' movie, decided more for his owm amusement than anything else to go ahead & take Fox's 70 million & proceed to make a big joke, which is sort of funny if you think about it


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  Month ago

      Maybe he got the script and decided to make a farce for the lulz.


  • deraj nitram
    deraj nitram Month ago +1

    My problem with this film is that while it features the alien creatures it lacks the elements that make an Alien film. The movie is violent, but nothing about the film is scary/suspenseful, and very little about the film in terms of story, and character are memorable, or well executed.

    It tries to be action oriented like Aliens but it doesn't match the trilling action because it's characters don't seem all that threatened by the aliens, and it's not a good horror film because tonally it could never be taken seriously. It's got some unique ideas, and tries to implement them, but overall the film has so many competing ideas and tones that it never really nails any of them.

  • Kermit's teatime
    Kermit's teatime Month ago +1

    i agree with u. it's like a B movie, so ugly and disturbing, almost made me throw up after watching.

  • Shade Draws
    Shade Draws 2 months ago

    The lazy Snyder hate. Ugh. Another YTer I get to block.

    • GreekNeek
      GreekNeek Month ago

      Giggle smith lol you like snyder? 😋😂😂😂😂😂 sniff petrol as well I presume.


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  2 months ago

      You block people who mention Snyder?Holy shit.

      That reflects badly on you, bro.


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  2 months ago

      Sorry, I guess I miss the genius of Zack Snyder.


    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  2 months ago

      You think this is lazy?Let me show you what lazy is.

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MG29cP5vPfU&t=1s


  • gao2323
    gao2323 2 months ago

    Here's a fun idea- go rewatch the movie you're going to review.

    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  2 months ago

      I've seen this movie like 20 times, I have no interest in watching it again.

      I would agree with you if this was some in depth review, but it was just me telling my subs how I feel about this movie.

      Did I miss something?Seeing Ron Pearlman flip upside down to shoot the Xeno again wouldn't have helped this review.lol


  • DR Evil
    DR Evil 2 months ago

    if somebody says "inside of her"again im going to go mental and is one of many reasons i hated the script in this mess

  • Kesyabasturd
    Kesyabasturd 2 months ago +1

    Such wasted potential.

  • tim yo
    tim yo 2 months ago +3

    i have only 1 good thing to say about Alien Covenant > at least it didn't have the tone & casting of this useless movie.

    • big mike
      big mike Month ago

      tim yo AGREED. RESURRECTION IS THE WORST


  • Tiberius Rex
    Tiberius Rex 2 months ago +2

    I'm glad I found you

  • MYT MIC
    MYT MIC 2 months ago

    I have no issue with Alien Resurrection whatsoever, it's a fun popcorn film, everything doesn't have to be a slow, dreary, sci-fi drama....Alien and Alien 3 are the cure for insomnia!

    • big mike
      big mike Month ago

      MYT MIC I didnt say it didnt have some interesting ideas. I liked the 1st 30 min or so especially the bits with the mercenaries which was reminiscent of Mark Verheidens 1990 6 pt. Dark Horse comics Aliens & is a masterpiece & should have been Alien 3. It just didnt go anywhere & in my opinion devolved into a semi serious parody of an Alien film. Almost a farce but intentionally so. As far as the art direction goes I dont think anything in Resurrection comes close to what Giger did in Alien & in a strange way, Resurrrection's sets & art direction, though ambitious, reminded me of David lynch's Dune. It was just an ugly, grotesquerie of a movie that wasnt particularly scary or funny. IDk. I guess it just comes down to individual aesthetics & we'll just have to agree to disagree.


    • MYT MIC
      MYT MIC Month ago

      big mike first off resurrection has some of the most interesting science....the fact that they are kidnapping people to serve as hosts for facehuggers is dark as hell. To this day the swimming alien is the coolest thing we've seen a xeno do since the introduction of the queen! Also I like the goofy, silly characters in resurrection, heck you even learn their names which is more than can be said about Alien 3 or those god awful prequels Ridley Scott keeps throwing out! Also, this movie has the most unique art direction of any other alien film, I like the rustic almost steampunk look of the film. Finally, it's not boring, it does what it do and ends, movie not trying to bore the audience with any of Ridley Scott's wack philosophies!


    • big mike
      big mike Month ago

      MYT MIC But Alien Resurrection is not a pop corn film. My God! The only thing Resurrection would want to make me do with popcorn is throw it up. Its an ugly, drab, bland & grotesque parody of an Alien film. Alien 3 was a disappointment. Alien 4 was its death cry & the series was essentially put on ice for almost 10 yrs because of it. Covenant is not good either but its faults are not like the faults of an abomination like Resurrection. With Covenant we are literally seeing an aging but iconic visionary genius going through a late life crisis. These prequels arent films about aliens, theyre films about faith, lack of faith, concepts of good & evil & creation & destruction & quite honestly, fear. Not the kind of fear the original Alien was about but the fear of death. We're literally watching a guy face his own mortality on the big screen & the results are... intetesting, different, risky but it just doesn't make for a very good Alien film. Resurrection just sucked because it was a horrendous misfire.


  • The Great Red Dragon 87
    The Great Red Dragon 87 2 months ago +1

    A review... You poor bastard.

  • GreekNeek
    GreekNeek 2 months ago +1

    So happy to see this review! Fuckin love your vids! p.s covenant sucks balls. shout outs from west London!

  • Warfox
    Warfox 2 months ago

    This movie should be porn.

  • Brandon Barkman
    Brandon Barkman 2 months ago +1

    Hey buddy not sure if you'll get this message but here it goes anyways. Super love the work your doing keep up the good work! 👍🏻

  • WaRLoKWYATT
    WaRLoKWYATT 2 months ago

    I loved this movie. Not as for as the story goes, but just the movie it's self.

    • Please Rewind
      Please Rewind  2 months ago

      I used to really dig it, idk what happened.


  • Pissed Off Crusader
    Pissed Off Crusader 2 months ago

    Whedons got some fucked up teeth.

  • Pissed Off Crusader
    Pissed Off Crusader 2 months ago +3

    This movie fucking sucks camel cock, then swallows.

  • Len the cat
    Len the cat 2 months ago +3

    I didn't hate resurrection. The tone of Resurrection is totally wrong for the series though. The comedy seemed out of place but I didn't hate it. It just didn't feel like an alien movie. I loved the city of lost children.

    • DR Evil
      DR Evil 2 months ago

      the music ruined it it sounded like some airport drama if somebody could take the music from alien and put it in ressurection you would probably have a better movie.ripley acting all weird until the end of the movie ruined it too


Analyse website