Alien - Movie Review

Comments: 2 795

  • Felipe Everson
    Felipe Everson 9 hours ago

    You're a great reviewer. I hardly ever get to see reviews on the crew as the main protagonist of the first half. Also loved your Misery review. Congrats!!!

    Would you care to review a movie called "City of God"? It's from my country and quite well known world-wide.

  • Walter White
    Walter White 6 days ago

    Hey Chris, I've been a fan of your channel for a while and would like to make some recommendations. I recommend you make a video of your top 20 favorite films of all time. Or whatever number you please. And I would like you to review Blade Runner. Also I would like to see you delve into much more classic cinema. Like 50s-60s. Thanks Chris keep up the good work.

  • jballau
    jballau 10 days ago +1

    Skip to 6:02 for instant LOLs.

  • smit4459
    smit4459 11 days ago

    Here are my three favorite "Alien" films:
    1-"Alien" (1979)
    2-"Aliens" (1986)
    3-"Alien: Covenant" (2017)
    These three films are incredible in my opinion! think the other "Alien" movies are absolute shit! They are no where near as horrifying, emotionally engaging and philosophicaly engaging, as the other three movies, I just previously mentioned in the list.

  • Purple Corn Studios
    Purple Corn Studios 12 days ago

    Giger: gi like in McGee

  • Blender Dumbass
    Blender Dumbass 15 days ago

    Every body are talking about how sexually disturbing makes Alien be scarier... I never felt it myself... I know death is disturbing... I know force is disturbing... but sex, nah... WTF

  • Piggy Oink Oink
    Piggy Oink Oink 15 days ago

    Alien was terrifying until I saw the thing's head and realized it looked _slightly_ like a stapler crossed with a banana

  • Aliana Jacobs
    Aliana Jacobs 16 days ago

    Now that I am adult I have them in my collection as one of my favorite movies!

  • Aliana Jacobs
    Aliana Jacobs 16 days ago

    I love this movie scared the crap out of me when I watched it as a kid!

  • Weyland Productions
    Weyland Productions 17 days ago

    I remember when I first saw the Alien on the chains. When I first watched the movie, I never noticed it there! Idk how, I just never did. Then when I do finally see it, it was exactly how Chirs reacts, except I felt a little more shocked and terrified! Alien is my favourite movie of all time <3

  • Michal Bednář
    Michal Bednář 22 days ago

    my sister who was brouhgt up on today's "horror" movies didn't like it... seriously, are you my sister? :D

  • Piet Cloete
    Piet Cloete 24 days ago

    Alien
    Alien
    Prometheus
    Alien3
    Alien:covenant
    AVPR
    AVP
    Alien : resurrection

  • Jordan Perkins
    Jordan Perkins 26 days ago

    i recently watched this movie for the first time and i don't see the hype around it. i watched the directors cut, and disliked every character besides Ripley, Parker, and Jones the cat. I didn't find it scary either. Maybe that's just because the movie came out 21 years before i was born so it would be common to see pictures of the xenomorph online and such. I was more scared of the aliens in the marine campaign of the AVP video game when i was 11. i thought alien isolation was really scary from what i've seen of the gameplay online. i still plan on watching alien 2 and 3 but i just didn't like this movie very much

  • ThunderSpartan 1028

    It's

  • F.
    F. Month ago +1

    I fucking love this film, it's a absolute masterpiece.

  • OneManTent
    OneManTent Month ago

    Can't say I'm a fan of the director's cut, not knowing what happened to Brett or Dallas is far more terrifying. And the scene where Brett dies (as it was shown in the theatrical version) is more unsettling, he died alone with the sound of the water and chains and that great shot of the cat. The directors cut version where Ripley and Parker run in straight after just ruins the mood of an iconic horror scene IMO.

  • OneManTent
    OneManTent Month ago

    This whole thing about the cast not knowing that the alien was going to burst out of john hurts chest is an urban legend that gets repeated over and over again.
    The truth is A L I E N got made precisely BECAUSE of the chestburster scene. Everybody involved in the production was well aware of it including the cast who had obviously read the script beforehand.
    The only thing they didn't know was how much blood was going to be used, that's it.
    Their stunned reaction to the first spurt of blood on hurt's chest was great acting and one of my fav moments in the movie.

  • K Comm
    K Comm Month ago

    I saw ALIEN when I was 9.....to this day....I have nightmares....oh, I'm 43. BRILLIANT!

  • Jake P
    Jake P Month ago

    Love it for the most part, but Tom Skerrit's performance sucks ass

  • FurryRogue
    FurryRogue Month ago

    I used to like Aliens more, but after watching it a few times, I started to hate the heavy emphasis of military in it. Sure, the marines were great and had a lot of character, but it nullified that suspense that made the first so special, IMO.

    Alien is a masterpiece and I wish it didn't become a franchise, or at least limited itself to a focused trilogy, all directed by Ridley Scott.

  • FurryRogue
    FurryRogue Month ago

    Oh, wow, I didn't know the shot of the Alien hanging in the bay was only in the Director's Cut. I loved it, and thought it was cool how it was supposed to make people either, think it was just inanimate mechanical parts, or make people go, "... *gasp* ... wait, was that?... oh, shit!" So awesome!

  • Crocodileofdoom
    Crocodileofdoom Month ago

    well Ridley Scott has pissed everybody with the last movies

  • That Overwatch Player

    Alien - Brilliant Claustrophobic thriller
    Aliens - Action Packed thriller
    Alien 3 - Very underrated thriller
    Alien Resurrection - A huge that disappointment that didn't have certain tone

  • Matt Provost
    Matt Provost Month ago

    Am I the only person that didn't hate Resurrection? Yeah the last 20 minutes or so are pretty terrible but up until that point it was a lot of fun if not better than. Aliens 3

  • bob bill
    bob bill Month ago

    how the hell do you prefer the Directors Cut?

  • zig zag 061
    zig zag 061 Month ago

    and covenant is just better than prometeus.

  • Original Juice
    Original Juice 2 months ago

    as much as I liked Covenant the original Alien still has that real feel of Horror, the fear of the unknown, you can sense the Xeno is nearby and potentially going to do something but it doesn't have that predictable aspect throughout the film...you kind of have that in Covenant. As a viewer you really can appreciate the Alien characters more too. it's still the best, Aliens is easily still the 2nd best of the series.

  • Neel Parmar
    Neel Parmar 2 months ago +2

    My year 10 media teacher made us watch and compare Alien and the Usual Suspects. One of the best teachers I ever had.

  • fuktha fox
    fuktha fox 2 months ago

    SEX FILM YES FILM SEX SEXY SEXY SEX FILM BEST EVER FILM SEXY

  • Ghost5379
    Ghost5379 2 months ago

    the crew is great, apart from Lambert, she sucks.

  • olternaut
    olternaut 2 months ago

    Always watch the theatrical release first before any director's cut.

  • Captain's Corner
    Captain's Corner 2 months ago

    Hello everyone. I review movies and soon to be books and video games. I am a massive fan of Chris and of course the Alien franchise too. My focus is upon science fiction predominantly, but I am also interested in the unusual and different kinds of films that perhaps go under the radar or are very critically acclaimed but are still not for everyone.

    If you would like to see a different kind of review then please check out my own Alien review and tell me what you think!

  • Jose Alvarez
    Jose Alvarez 2 months ago

    Dallas as the captain? and in covenant you have Tennessee? coincidence? I think not

  • Casey Christopher
    Casey Christopher 2 months ago

    I am actually surprised that Covenant's Alien, even the CGI version looks like a cartoon version of Giger's original. As a matter of fact. None of the knock off Xenomorphs are really as scary and terrifying as Giger's original Xenomorph costume. Not even close. Even the Xenomorphs in Aliens (sequel), while still the next best case, they still lack something that Giger's artwork has. Alien3 and 4 and AVP and particularly Covenant all are so bad they have been relegated to cartoon monster status. I watch this film a few times a year.

    • Casey Christopher
      Casey Christopher 2 months ago

      Its a fair point but what I mean to focus on is the design. Giger's design is the most stark and terrifying. For whatever reason the other designs are so derivative that even when you see the long head and the ribs and tubes off the back it somehow feels cheesy compared to the general feel of gigers original design and costume. But it's fair to point out the aspect of it being human, but the fact that it is somewhat human is also the part that helps it because the creature was made from being inside a human. So it kind of lends itself to that narrative.


    • Jake
      Jake 2 months ago

      The Xenomorph costume looks pretty fucking bad nowadays. It looks bad back then too, that's why it was constantly obscured in shadows and we never really got a good look at it. It just doesn't work when you put a human in a suit to portray something that isn't human. The movements need to be unnatural and strange to us, and that can mostly only be done by CGI. You can't get a human to crawl at rapid speed on all fours while in a constricting suit.

      The closeups of the animatronic alien head look great, but the dude standing there in a rubber suit looks terrible.


  • I Ekberg
    I Ekberg 2 months ago

    I got done watching this movie and was like "wow there weren't any compelling characters other than an actual robot... and I guess the alien". Maybe the directors cut is okay, but the version I saw was absolute trash

  • Andrew Perez
    Andrew Perez 2 months ago

    You should do a review on some Edgar Wright movies leading up to his new film, Baby Driver, which I am super excited for!

  • SouperMovieCritic
    SouperMovieCritic 2 months ago

    Proof you don't always need CGI.

  • jimmyl324
    jimmyl324 2 months ago +2

    My favorite movie of all.

  • Ben Hetland
    Ben Hetland 2 months ago

    Okay, that shirt. Where did you get it?

  • Humphrey Ward
    Humphrey Ward 2 months ago

    Alien is a movie

  • Smn B
    Smn B 2 months ago

    1. Alien
    2. Alien 3 Assembly Cut
    3. Aliens
    4. Prometheus / Alien: Covenant
    5. Alien: Resurrection

    The AVP's can fuck off.

  • edvaira6891
    edvaira6891 2 months ago

    Best ad slogan EVER:"In Space, No one can hear you scream"

  • Graeme Eadie
    Graeme Eadie 2 months ago

    You didn't mention the cat

  • Mystic Mark
    Mystic Mark 2 months ago

    Can anyone tell me why the Alien was stuck in the wall of the ship at the end of the movie? 6:14 I think that's it

    • Jake
      Jake 2 months ago

      It was injured and maybe even dying. It took a flamethrower to the face in the vents. It went somewhere to basically hide and either heal or die. Either that, or it was nearing the end of its life cycle.


  • Toolness1
    Toolness1 2 months ago +1

    People that love this movie really need to play Alien Isolation. IMO that game is so great, it's worth buying a computer to run it if you don't already have one. (or a console I guess, meh) The game is the only thing that duplicates the claustrophobia and tension of the first Alien movie, it's very true to the story and meticulously reproduces the sound, music, lighting, detail, and the Alien's behavior. It's not a mindless FPS like AVP or Colonial Marines (not that there's anything wrong with those games, but that's not what Alien was, it was a slow-burn movie full of tension in a cramped ship) This wasn't the cannon-fodder type Aliens from the second movie, it's the smart lone-wolf predator from the first. It's a terrific game and every fan of Alien really needs to give it a go. I've never had a movie or game draw me in and make me feel that terrified before. It's a masterpiece, if you have patience. If you're looking to run around and shoot-em-up, don't bother. On another note, the cast knew the general idea about what was going to happen with the chestburster scene, they just didn't realize how brutal and bloody it was going to be. So the reaction when they get hit with the blood spray was genuine.

  • John Hooyer
    John Hooyer 2 months ago

    I want to give it an A+, but I hesitate ever so slightly, because it obviously isn't as scary as it was on my first viewing. That having been said, I'd still give it an A+ because it's still an artistic masterpiece (and a really unique one at that, since horror movies are rarely artistic, let alone masterpieces), and as an artist I love to watch it.

    One thing where I'll disagree with you, though: I prefer the theatrical cut, but that's a matter of taste. Perhaps that's because it's the version that I saw first.

  • bob joe
    bob joe 2 months ago

    RIP John Hurt, we will eternally miss you

  • alencore
    alencore 2 months ago

    It was 1979 when me and my Dad went out and saw this movie. I was just little kid then so it was kinda traumatic to see the alien movie and ripley's panties LOL on the big screen! Still I cherish those moments since me and my Dad are no longer in contact to one another, again.

  • Dem Rain Transformed Tho

    2:45 expecting you to say dallas the cowboy

  • Robert van Piggelen
    Robert van Piggelen 2 months ago

    shit, I never realized the alien was just hanging there...

  • EleriDragonfly
    EleriDragonfly 2 months ago

    I was to young when I watched Alien, I don't remember how old I was though. My mam says I found it boring, which is hard to believe. But I remember asking if the cat would survive xD

  • DreStation 2
    DreStation 2 2 months ago

    Common misconception. The actors actually did know something was going to burst out of John Hurt's chest during that scene. They saw him being set up under the table and had read the script. What they didn't know was that a ridiculous amount of fake blood had been set up to fire everywhere. Lambert in particular was caught unaware and took a whole jet stream to the face....causing her to fall backwards. Try and find the clip of that online because it's hilarious...

  • Michael Shmueloff
    Michael Shmueloff 2 months ago

    Chris, answer me this though:

    How is it when the first crew member died, and under such circumstances, the other members didn't seem all that phased by what they saw.
    Also, when they first go out looking for the alien, there's the part with the cat in the locker. How'd the cat get in that room? And how did he get into that locker?

  • Poppy M
    Poppy M 3 months ago

    Have you seen Pandorum, Chris? That movie really harked back to Alien for me, unexpectedly so. The isolation, the eerie, dark, dingy space ship, the paranoia and terror. And it has nice practical creature effects, too.Solid little sci-fi horror (with an interesting twist).

  • T ALAN M
    T ALAN M 3 months ago

    Alien is the masterpiece. My 2nd fav. is John Carpenter's The Thing.

  • Mr. Midnight
    Mr. Midnight 3 months ago

    Which is better? The thing or Alien.

  • ö. . ,
    ö. . , 3 months ago

    There are two things...
    1) That stupid cat.
    2) Would you really build a spaceship, with wires, electricity and electronics, and there is water dropping everywhere?

  • BlotRorschach
    BlotRorschach 3 months ago

    Stop perpetuating the "cast didn't know about the chestburster" urban legend. Come on.

  • Severian Wintermute
    Severian Wintermute 3 months ago

    Watched this a while back with a friend. She literally did not stop running her fucking yap the entire movie. I wanted to reach over and say, "Bitch, you either shut the fuck up or I will rip your goddamn throat out. Because this movie deserves your motherfucking respect."

  • Vinojan Sivajothy
    Vinojan Sivajothy 3 months ago

    hey chris , have you ever tried writing any scripts inspired ny alien

  • Paulo Ferreira
    Paulo Ferreira 3 months ago

    There was a AVP2? OMG

  • Psycane
    Psycane 3 months ago

    Another thing about this film is that it fakes you out again towards the end. Ripley seems to be the hero, but she goes off on her own without Lambert and Parker. So here, you'd naturally expect Ripley to get picked off by the alien, but instead it kills both Lambert and Parker. Also, putting a spin on horror movie cliches, the film gets down to three people: two woman and a black man. That's pretty cool.

  • TheListerDrifter 157
    TheListerDrifter 157 3 months ago +2

    1. Aliens
    2. Alien
    3. Alien Covenant
    4. Alien 3
    5. Alien vs Predator
    6. Prometheus
    7. Alien vs Predator Requiem
    8. Alien Resurrection

  • Casper Jägell
    Casper Jägell 3 months ago

    I like the ones In Aliens more, much more agile

  • MrMapleChat
    MrMapleChat 3 months ago

    Just saw Alien 4 minutes ago and i got to say it is not as good as most critics make it out to be . For many reasons i don't even feel like typing , just check out cinema sins version of it explains alot of my problems with it .

  • storytellinginstones or something

    Prometheus - Ridley Scott, 2012 2.5/5 (very interesting)
    Alien Covenant - Ridley Scott, 2017 2.5/5 (fascinating)
    Alien - Ridley Scott, 1979 4/5 (cinema history)
    Aliens - James Cameron, 1986 3.5/5 (very good)
    Alien 3 - David Fincher, 1993 2.5/5 (too many defects, but very interesting)
    Alien: Resurrection - Jean-Pierre Jeunet, 1997 2.5/5 (inspired, funny and entertaining)

    Alien vs Predator - Paul W.S. Anderson, 2004 2/5 (nothing special, but watchable)
    Alien vs Predator: Requiem - Colin Strause, Greg Strause, 2007 1/5 (nothing works)

    • storytellinginstones or something
      storytellinginstones or something 3 months ago

      El Capitan Ahah.. "Citizen Kane", " Seven Samurai" and "Pulp Fiction". The absolutly perfect movies. I still have to watch "Vertigo", though..


    • Captain Jack Sparrow
      Captain Jack Sparrow 3 months ago

      storytellinginstones or something I wonder which movies you gibe 5/5 to if you did not give them to Alien and Aliens


  • Luis Kern
    Luis Kern 3 months ago

    you do realize that the director's cut is not really ridley scott's cut? and it is clearly inferior to the original cut by a long shot

  • The Cinematic Revolution

    1) alien
    2) alien: covenant
    3) aliens
    4) Prometheus
    5) AVP
    6) alien 3
    7) AVP: requiem
    8) alien 4

  • Rami Al-Omari
    Rami Al-Omari 3 months ago +1

    1. Alien
    2. Aliens
    3. Alien: Covenant
    4. Prometheus
    5. Alien 3
    6. AVP
    7. Alien: Resurrection
    8. AVPR

  • Christian's Reviews
    Christian's Reviews 3 months ago

    I feel like the effects in Alien are my same thoughts on the effects in Jaws: the less you see of it, the better. However, whenever it goes to a wide shot of the creature, that's where it becomes obvious that it's an effect.

  • Agent Prime
    Agent Prime 3 months ago

    I remember the only thing I disliked about this movie was when it's was coming to the end where Ripley was running around the ship and there was the countdown and I think she turned it off and I felt like that went on forever and ever and ever.

  • Neil Deeley
    Neil Deeley 3 months ago

    "reviews" are now 5 or 10 minutes long now apparently.

  • DeepFried Wat3rMel0n
    DeepFried Wat3rMel0n 3 months ago

    i prefer predator's design

  • Henry.
    Henry. 3 months ago +1

    I was watching the Directors cut without knowing it was the directors cut and seeing the Alien hanging made me go WAIT WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT IT? to my friend lmaoooo so amazing.

  • Critical Mass
    Critical Mass 3 months ago +1

    Where are the great female action hero leads I grew up watching like Ripley and Sarah Connor? All female leads today feel forced.

    Alien - A+
    Aliens - A+
    Alien 3 - B
    Alien Resurrection - C+
    Prometheus - B+

  • D.J.O. Beckwith
    D.J.O. Beckwith 3 months ago

    Hey Chris...Have you seen "Jodorowsky's Dune? " If not, you should. It really shows a bit of film history, in particular, how a good portion of the team that made "Alien" came together. In addition, it is a very entertaining documentary.

  • Narendran Surya
    Narendran Surya 3 months ago

    But why does no one switch on the lights in this movie?
    They just wait for a star to shine light?
    ::
    The normal human thing to do when you enter a room that is poorly lit room is to turn the lights on. Not go inside and search for stuff!
    This was the only thing that bothered me throughout the movie, otherwise it was awesome!

  • Y. Vang
    Y. Vang 3 months ago +1

    Until this day, I would not watch Alien alone.

  • Superkiller6000
    Superkiller6000 3 months ago

    Yeah well every time I watch Alien I always get so ascairt that I crap my pants. BUT WAIT! ... Because the crap that spontaneously occurs, induced by fear (oddly enough, much to my surprise, every time), bursts out of me pretty much just the same as an Xenomorph bursting out of someone's chest. Now, you are all most definitely picturing this... and that is good. Feel my pain, my surprise, my confusion and despair... Just think on it: the mess; the constant purchasing of new pants and tighty-whiteys, as though my chequeing account has been impregnated by its own chest-burster (which, I suppose one could say it has, by proxy); the weapon of mass destruction that my anus and this movie combined happen to produce. North America's own WMD that George Dubya completely overlooked... Nucular Xenomorph Anus... More amazing than Bill Paxton was in life, and still is in memory... If that doesn't make this movie one of my all-time favourites, well, I just don't know then... :)

  • James Haygreen
    James Haygreen 3 months ago

    I watched this for the first time today, and I love movies as an art, and I get that the story was interesting and it was well shot, but honestly this movie really bored me, the tension was okay (I saw it alone in a silent room) but I don't see the appeal here, weird bc I usually agree with chris' reviews (Prisoners and V for vendetta are my favourites ever)

  • Insignia Entertainment
    Insignia Entertainment 3 months ago +1

    james cameron took it to the next level

  • JP Alpha
    JP Alpha 3 months ago

    I saw the trailer for alien vs predator when I was like 8... nightmares for three weeks

  • brazwen
    brazwen 3 months ago

    One of my all time favourite movie. Stood the test of time very well.

  • J_MD
    J_MD 3 months ago

    1:33 when do they show that in the movie, i cant remember

    • brazwen
      brazwen 3 months ago

      They don't. Chris was showing an example of H.R. Giger's work.


  • Tomas C
    Tomas C 3 months ago

    can you do a review of mothman prophecies? (2002) its either loved or hated but i think youd approve. very atmospheric, eerie, uncomfortable movie. i think its underrated

  • Ethan Jones
    Ethan Jones 3 months ago

    Eh, I really don't like this movie and I think its one of the most overrated movies of all time.

  • Mike M
    Mike M 3 months ago +5

    This movie makes everything else look like shit. Its that damn good

  • snakebitgoat
    snakebitgoat 3 months ago

    John Hurt's awesome. RIP and he was the original Sean Bean. The Brit who always dies. I love the actor and it's sad to see him go. He probably had the most range I've seen from an actor in a while.

  • Man Taesombat
    Man Taesombat 3 months ago

    Deep

  • freddieelm
    freddieelm 3 months ago

    Alien is a terrible movie. The Xenomorph itself is laughable.

  • arfived4
    arfived4 3 months ago

    Rather than dancing around with the "unsettling sexual undertones" whatnot, you could have used Ridley Scott's own words - it's a film about rape.

  • Landfill
    Landfill 3 months ago

    what about prometheus

  • Josh Eastham
    Josh Eastham 3 months ago

    I haven't seen alien 1 all the way through yet

  • 47
    47 3 months ago

    To some degree Event Horizon utilized a similar formula to Aliens, but the whole demonic/hell aspect was more terrifying than Alien.

  • King Kong 64
    King Kong 64 3 months ago

    Throughout this whole review, cannot stop staring at his teeth. sorry

  • Mat B
    Mat B 3 months ago

    Just bought the quadrilogy at Best Buy because of your reviews. It's taken 28 years but I'm finally going to sit and watch them all

  • Øystein A.
    Øystein A. 3 months ago

    It would be better if you gave it a B- so I could have fun reading the comments.

  • Alberto De Lucca
    Alberto De Lucca 3 months ago

    Pet peeve of mine. Why use the AvP xeno image in the thumbnail instead of Giger's?

  • dEssert 4 THought
    dEssert 4 THought 3 months ago +4

    great movie 10/10

  • Phoebe J
    Phoebe J 3 months ago

    Been playing alien isolation and finally decided to watch the film, great movie, great review!

Analyse website