ALIEN: COVENANT REVIEW: That Darn Movie Show!

  • Added:  2 months ago
  • Bound for a remote planet on the far side of the galaxy, members (Katherine Waterston, Billy Crudup) of the colony ship Covenant discover what they think to be an uncharted paradise. While there, they meet David (Michael Fassbender), the synthetic survivor of the doomed Prometheus expedition. The mysterious world soon turns dark and dangerous when a hostile alien life-form forces the crew into a deadly fight for survival.

    Watch all 2017 movie reviews! www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLzX2WEOzrvnKaDt09sCCLOVVp-6PPn_-P

    Tweet me your thoughts here: twitter.com/clarisselou
    Follow me on Letterboxd: letterboxd.com/CALoughrey/
  • Video CategoriesFilm & Animation
  • Runtime: 8:53
  • Tags for this video:  Alien Covenant  Alien Covenant review  Alien Covenant film review  Alien film  Alien film review  Film review  Ridley Scott  Michael Fassbender  

Comments: 145

  • David Mclean
    David Mclean 1 month ago

    Thanks. finally someone else loved this movie too. I love the fact there are now three alien movies by ridley scott.I find his movies endlessly rewatchable . Cant believe people hate it so much

  • Gashead Steve
    Gashead Steve 1 month ago

    How come you've not got more subs, great review - I agree I really enjoyed it myself think like you I was very worried about it to start with. First hour I felt was great and really reminded me of Alien then it all kicked off :)

    Loved the fact that it added value to the old classics as well you can go back and watch them all over again with a different view point. Much like rogue one... anyhow love ya keep up the great work x

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 1 month ago

      Thanks, that's very kind of you to say! And so glad you enjoyed it!


  • livey0urlifedc
    livey0urlifedc 1 month ago

    Stop everything is the a glitter egg shirt!? Jealoussss good review btw

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 1 month ago

      Oh WOW, I wish! Someone needs to make that. Unfortunately, it's just a generic glitter pug (I'm a dog person)


  • Pontus Fredin
    Pontus Fredin 2 months ago

    Great film! Unexpected ,Underrated and also quite missunderstood 😂

  • Stevenson Valentin
    Stevenson Valentin 2 months ago

    I've never heard such a stupid criticism. Cornering is a total failure. Leave me
    Explain. A group of astronauts who decide to skip their way to make a stroll on a planet and know nothing (impossible). This film has no logic. Landed on a planet without protection, touched objects you do not know, go take a bath alone after losing colleagues, accept a story and trust a stranger without asking a real question, follow a stranger in a dark cave after having Seen that stranger speak with an alien, and not to mention that the film does not answer the questions of Prometeus (why the engineer want to kill us) ... so rediculous. Scott takes us for a real idiot. If you do not know how to analyze a movie, do not post any video on youtube.

  • Kermode's Imdb Message Board

    It was clearly the best thing since the creation of fire and oxygen.

    - Kermode

  • Schlett Istvan
    Schlett Istvan 2 months ago +1

    I do not agree with you! Covenant is a bad movie. Is a bad
    Prometheus sequel and is a bad Alien sequel. Let me explain. Prometheus
    was a great idea, Ridley Scott wanted to start some sort of new
    franchise about the creators of the human race. The main question of the
    movie (or the trilogy) was ``Why are we here?``. Prometheus started to
    explore this new aliens called the engineers. The whole thing was fresh
    and felt not like a rehash of some 30 year old alien franchise. Does
    Covenant brings us closer to the answer to that question? NO. We get
    some answers, but very very few. I mean are you happy with the idea of
    David creating the xenomorph? We saw no live engineer in the movie,
    beside one scene. Do not fool ourselves. This is an alien movie, not a
    sequel to Prometheus. And all that was changed in hurry after
    Prometheus, because RS thought that Prometheus was not well received by
    the public. Prometheus had its flaws (dumb scientists, running forward
    and not sideway when the space jockey crashed etc) however its main idea
    was great and fresh. Bu guess what: in Convenant the flaws are not
    corrected. People still act dumb (hysterical blonde on the ship, no mask
    on the new planet just because there is oxygen, overpowered neomorph in
    one scene than easily killable in other, characters which separate
    stupidly from the crowd, stupid looking into the content of an egg just
    because David told him so, totally predictable David/Walter twist etc).
    If Prometheus had its problems, that just go and see Covenant. This
    movie does nothing new, it is basically a rehashing of Alien and Aliens.
    Because we saw that already 30 years ago, the element of surprise is
    just not there. How many times can someone blow in space the alien
    invading the ship?? The second thing was the horrible character
    development. Even if we meet a bunch of guys on the ship, we do not
    connect with any of them emotionally. The only more developed character
    in the movie beside David and Walter (their connection and interaction
    is great btw) is the captain of the ship who bitches about his authority
    making him more annoying. How many time can be in a franchise a
    ``strong female character``? See, some elements of the movie are just
    copy-pasted from something which we already experienced before, therefor
    the movie lacks the element of surprise. I would tell RS that If you
    started a Prometheus trilogy, just continue with that original idea, do
    not change it into an alien movie, just because alien fans are pissed.
    Improve the original movie! And then, perhaps just make a new alien
    movie, but please, do not just copy it from the older ones... Now, let
    me explain why David memorizing classical music and poetry was actually a
    cool stuff. David was created to serve Wayland and to help him in his
    obsession to find a cure for aging. He was built to be very curious and
    in time he realizes that he is a superior creature to his master
    (stronger, smarter, and immortal) and he is beginning to think of
    himself as a creator (a god) and a sensitive being. He actually believes
    that he feels love for Dr. Shaw. However, he admits that humans have an
    inner side which tries always to achieve perfection (he highly regards
    classical music composers and poets) and in some ways they achieve this
    by creation (let it be music, poetry or David itself - making him a
    narcissist). However, he was proven wrong by Walter, who corrects him
    about Byron and saying something that if in an equation there is an
    error, the whole equation is wrong. In english, David cannot be a
    perfect creature even if he creates life, because his believes are
    proven wrong. This scene was one of the best in the movie. Their
    philosophical and ethical ramble was one of the few great things in this
    flick.

  • allisrevealed233
    allisrevealed233 2 months ago

    ....But I want you to talk about the spoilers! 😞😞😞

  • David Michael
    David Michael 2 months ago

    Great job, great review. Can't wait to see the movie!

  • highart69er
    highart69er 2 months ago

    LOL!, for a minute there, looking at the thumbnail, I thought Waterson was doing her own review of Alien Covenant. ( :

  • jcsmooth70
    jcsmooth70 2 months ago

    Thank you thank you for a fair review finally! Lol I don't know what other people had for expectations, but I had a feeling they weren't giving the movie a fair chance

  • Dave Gonzalez
    Dave Gonzalez 2 months ago +1

    you are cute.

  • WeegieMovies
    WeegieMovies 2 months ago

    I still haven't seen any of the Alien movies, I need to fix that ASAP :P

  • Edward Hitten
    Edward Hitten 2 months ago

    Almost as bad as Promotheus. This movie is telling us that faith is weak and A.I. will destroy humanity. A real satanic message.

  • Molasar
    Molasar 2 months ago

    You had me at "I quite liked Prometheus". The 5 years of Prometheus bashing has baffled me since I first saw the film. I loved the new ideas being presented in Prometheus and I left the theater pondering the meaning of life and was anxious to see what comes next. Ridley Scott IS the Alien franchise and I'm so glad he's back in charge!

    • Molasar
      Molasar 2 months ago

      "pseudo intellectual nonsense". How do you figure? Ancient cave drawings that hint at space origins (these kind of drawings do exist) lead us into an opportunity to possibly meet our creators. The planet at the beginning of Prometheus is not Earth (Ridley Scott has stated this), so they don't imply that Engineers are our direct creators, but may be linked somehow to life of Earth. Prometheus was the first part of a puzzle, and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy it but with all the brainless science fiction out there, it was a refreshing change from giant robots, laser battles and explosions. "characters that are as dumb as rocks". These are high end science fiction slasher films, of course people are going to do dumb things because that's the formula, then we watch them get massacred BECAUSE of their dumb decisions. Every Alien movie has people doing dumb things, so that comment is baffling.


    • Jonathan Gunn
      Jonathan Gunn 2 months ago

      And from what I've heard in other reviews, the characters in this movie are largely idiotic as well.


    • aikighost
      aikighost 2 months ago

      Prometheus gets bashed because its jam packed full of pseudo intellectual nonsense with characters that are dumb as rocks.


    • Molasar
      Molasar 2 months ago

      Great! I'll find out on the 20th (when the film drops in  the US). :-)


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      I agree! There are lots of really interesting concepts in Prometheus, and I think Covenant expands nicely on them!


  • Rohan kamble
    Rohan kamble 2 months ago

    Out of 10 what rating will you give it to this movie ??

  • Ant Khan
    Ant Khan 2 months ago

    spoiler alert

  • Jose
    Jose 2 months ago

    Are there engineers?

  • SWAPS- CS:GO & More
    SWAPS- CS:GO & More 2 months ago

    yOu spoiled somethings xdxdxdx

  • American Movie Podcast
    American Movie Podcast 2 months ago

    Great review!!! I do similar stuff on my channel! Check it out if you'd like! I Just subscribed!

  • Bucky Pinata
    Bucky Pinata 2 months ago

    Alien Covenant or watch a Chia Pets foliage grow.....so many decisions

  • Mr Touchene
    Mr Touchene 2 months ago

    Looking forward too this now. What an excellent indepth review

  • Gus Alcon
    Gus Alcon 2 months ago

    my girl dude, You have really gotten me so excited over this movie I can't wait to see it now.

  • Sauron Merciful
    Sauron Merciful 2 months ago

    quite. a lot of reviewers said there were some flaws in the movie , were they serious flaws??

  • The RED Samurai
    The RED Samurai 2 months ago

    Do you watch anime or read comics at all?

  • thefaistos
    thefaistos 2 months ago

    yeaa i love you i love dist film

  • Lisa Wintler-Cox
    Lisa Wintler-Cox 2 months ago

    Got me thinking about faith. Seems like lot of human achievement is trying to make our beliefs about ourselves as being non-meatsacks matter. We aren't a snack, we aren't a bacterial nursery or a bug victim. If anyone is going to kill us, it's going to be ourselves by gum!

  • A1Googler
    A1Googler 2 months ago

    Sorry. Paused at "I liked Prometheus". If you like Prometheus, we are on a different scale for the Alien movies. Ever since Alien and Aliens, everything sequel or prequel has been awful.

    • WolfBitch82
      WolfBitch82 2 months ago

      Uh? I never said Alien wasn't considered the best. Alien is obviously the best seeing as it's the original. I said Aliens is not half as good as Alien, though it's still a great film. And yes, I have seen the films obviously. The point is, Prometheus and Alien³ were not at all '' awful ''. On the contrary, both are excellent movies, just not AS good as Alien and Aliens.


    • A1Googler
      A1Googler 2 months ago

      OlgaTheGiantess x You are in the minority. Alien and Aliens are considered the two best by far in the series.

      And no, I am not just repeating what I have heard. I watched the films. You?


    • WolfBitch82
      WolfBitch82 2 months ago

      No offense, but no one gives a shit what you think. You're just repeating what a bunch other morons have said countless times before. Aliens (directed by James Cameron) isn't even half as good as the original Alien (directed and created by Ridley), and Alien 3 was far from awful. Prometheus suffered several re-writes and despite all of that still managed to be entertaining, mysterious and tense and tied nicely into the Alien franchise in terms of aesthetics, tone and feel. You're a nobody, whereas Ridley Scott is regarded as a master at his craft and has won and been nominated countless times for Oscars, Golden Globes, BAFTAS and Emmys and has a reel that would make any director or producer jealous as fuck. Your opinion is irrelevant.


    • Tomislav Vukic
      Tomislav Vukic 2 months ago

      A1Googler like Bane would say- for you


  • 11sdownie
    11sdownie 2 months ago

    I like rocks, I love .. rocks! Brilliant haha. Great review.

  • alejandromolinac
    alejandromolinac 2 months ago

    Pretty girl... gives me a Zoe Dechannel vibe...

  • videoreivew
    videoreivew 2 months ago

    Alien fan? Really? I don't buy it.

  • Mr. Dude_o_o
    Mr. Dude_o_o 2 months ago

    So glad to hear that it is surprisingly good. Can't wait to see it.

  • itsinmynamechap
    itsinmynamechap 2 months ago

    nice reviewing

  • Stephen Smitherman
    Stephen Smitherman 2 months ago

    Is it raining outside?

  • sonicindustries
    sonicindustries 2 months ago

    Fair play - should've checked..😳

  • Carlys
    Carlys 2 months ago

    just say damn, or nothing at all

  • Dexter White
    Dexter White 2 months ago

    Voice is like nails on chalkboard

  • Andy Peters
    Andy Peters 2 months ago

    i love you

  • DR Evil
    DR Evil 2 months ago

    can you show something more revealing next time .so we can feast on your plot points

  • Jay Clark
    Jay Clark 2 months ago

    Great review!!! Very articulate and knowledgeable.

  • Андрей Чепурнов

    You are pretty. But Alien:Covenant doesn't seem to be though. I am afraid that more concepts will get ruined this time, as I was not a fan of Space Jockeys being humanoids in space suits either.

  • K August
    K August 2 months ago

    I have to wait two weeks to see it now?
    Great...

    Oh, and you now have a new sub!

    • K August
      K August 2 months ago

      That Darn Movie Show No problem. And keep singing! 🎵


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      Hehe, I hope you enjoy it, though! And thanks so much!


  • Thomas h cullen
    Thomas h cullen 2 months ago

    The problem with Alien Covenant is that its artistic reality is antagonistic toward the artistic reality of Alien, as in the point of Alien is substance being the absence of characters, whereas Covenant is about promoting the ideology of nuance being linked to characters. Another difference, is that Alien is the substance of the value of freedom from ideology being not ideology, and Alien Covenant is the value of freedom from ideology being ideology

  • rextrek
    rextrek 2 months ago

    good review........cant wait to see it..........u look a tad like Zoey dechannel

  • David Price
    David Price 2 months ago

    i was there in 1979 when the first film opened .amazing

    • David Price
      David Price 2 months ago

      That Darn Movie Show still got the movie programe aswell .looking forward to seeing this film.Ridley said theres 2 more Alien films to come before it leads into the original Alien film.cheers for the review to .


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      That's so cool!!!


  • Ryan Shanner
    Ryan Shanner 2 months ago

    I'm still annoyed that I invested in the character of Shaw, and she died off screen apparently before this movie even takes place.

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      True! And thanks so much


    • Ryan Shanner
      Ryan Shanner 2 months ago

      I know! This is the second time this franchise has had me invest in a character(s) and then kill them offscreen - Alien 3 I'm talking about you. Great review, looking forward to more from you.


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      She's one of my favourite things about Prometheus, Noomi Rapace did such a great job!


  • Avery Sommerfeld
    Avery Sommerfeld 2 months ago

    Very impressive review!! Very honest. I can't wait to see the movie, and the flute scene!!!

  • Ron Fiasco
    Ron Fiasco 2 months ago

    Great review despite some...SOME...spoiler type info. but that's ok. I enjoyed it.

  • Paul
    Paul 2 months ago

    Great review, cant wait to see the movie!

  • Jarosław Korczyński
    Jarosław Korczyński 2 months ago

    Now I know why It sounded so familiar. For anyone willing to have a read, here's the written version of the review.

    http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/reviews/alien-covenant-review-prometheus-sequel-prequel-michael-fassbender-david-walter-a7720371.html

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      Hehe, no worries! I never really talk about work on here since this channel is just for fun and the writing is paid, so apologies for any confusion!


    • Jarosław Korczyński
      Jarosław Korczyński 2 months ago

      Oh, my sincere apologies in this case. Sorry once again and I'm editing my original comment right away ;)


    • Red Skunk
      Red Skunk 2 months ago

      oh dear, you got bodied there my friend....


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      check who wrote that review ;)


  • Eduardo Gold Valz Gen
    Eduardo Gold Valz Gen 2 months ago

    Awesome review!!!

  • STEVE DAVIES
    STEVE DAVIES 2 months ago

    Good review.

  • LevelGapGaming
    LevelGapGaming 2 months ago

    Fuck the movie. I just want her number.

  • sonicindustries
    sonicindustries 2 months ago +3

    Read The Independent by any chance..?

    • Thunderbolt
      Thunderbolt 2 months ago

      sonicindustries I thought it was super similar too, so I checked and she actually wrote that review! :D


  • Stewart B
    Stewart B 2 months ago

    I really enjoyed your take and review of the film. I had my doubts but I am really looking forward to it now.

  • Dan Matrix Show
    Dan Matrix Show 2 months ago

    Review shill.

  • charliethegent
    charliethegent 2 months ago

    Nice thumbnail face.... look at that view count tho...the illuminati are going to be very upset

  • Rocketassistedgoat
    Rocketassistedgoat 2 months ago

    If a clear Alien fan loves it; it must be awesome. Good review.
    I hear it's about next-best after the first two; and that's all I ever dared hope it would be, as we're talking Scott and Cameron's best-films, respectively.
    Any pacing-issues, Ridley can iron-out in the next installments, so we have improvements built-in. hopefully. Unless he goes all George-Lucas on us again.[I don't believe he will, he knows his best-work, and has decided to spend the rest of his life on it]
    We have yet to see remote-controlled battle-aliens, in squads, 'cause that's SUCH a good idea..or alien puppies that spawn creatures inside your brain, after you pat them.

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      Yeah, I think this movie is a great reassurance that Scott isn't the kind of guy who slacks on the job, his vision is still SUPER focused.


  • Pundit KING
    Pundit KING 2 months ago +4

    lmao she likes Prometheus hahaha I can see how this review is going to be. Wait dose she get paid by the studios now?

    • paul tower
      paul tower 2 months ago

      lol


    • Pundit KING
      Pundit KING 2 months ago

      Ladies and Genteman, live before you, a not so hard to find "FAIL" comment byTomislav Vukic, take a bow buddy.


    • C.M. H.
      C.M. H. 2 months ago

      Don't talk crazy. I adore Prometheus


  • waynea hoodmister
    waynea hoodmister 2 months ago

    cool my son and i will go see it,i trust you hopefully its a cliffhanger like you say 😊👍

  • André Kuster-Cid
    André Kuster-Cid 2 months ago

    Where do we spoilers-lovers can find them juicey spoilers???

  • Jaheel Frederick
    Jaheel Frederick 2 months ago

    subbed, love the accent too

    • Jaheel Frederick
      Jaheel Frederick 2 months ago

      No probs. Looking forward to more content. Btw your thumbnail expression look like the guy in the poster for "Get Out". Haha awesome


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      Thanks!


  • Robert Crawford
    Robert Crawford 2 months ago

    GOod, balanced fan review. Thanks.

  • lunatiksAlterEgo
    lunatiksAlterEgo 2 months ago

    "I'm down for that kind of stuff" lol

  • lunatiksAlterEgo
    lunatiksAlterEgo 2 months ago +1

    your cute/funny, and you gave me "faith" that this movie will be good.

  • scott davies
    scott davies 2 months ago +4

    Are you single 😊

    • WeegieMovies
      WeegieMovies 2 months ago

      It's even creepier when you read his account description! :P


    • Dylan Martin
      Dylan Martin 2 months ago

      scott davies Lol damn the thirst is real


  • Nicholas van der Waard
    Nicholas van der Waard 2 months ago

    I'll let you know what I think when I watch it. Liked you review, especially the part about the film's eccentricities (sexual flute-playing).

  • Toy Fan
    Toy Fan 2 months ago +2

    Why did david create the xenomorph?

  • Mr 1 Singularity
    Mr 1 Singularity 2 months ago

    Great video thanks and also thanks for not spoiling.

  • Hairy Dutchman
    Hairy Dutchman 2 months ago +3

    I'm hungry for spoilers lol

  • Y PD
    Y PD 2 months ago

    자막좀 달아라

  • C McEwan
    C McEwan 2 months ago +25

    Wow! That was such a refreshing review. Thank you for sharing. The world needs more like this.

    • #35 Rossy's Reef
      #35 Rossy's Reef 2 months ago

      where is Michael Jackson?? he was supposed to bring the popcorn!


    • Tomislav Vukic
      Tomislav Vukic 2 months ago

      David awwwwwwwwwwww 😗


    • David
      David 2 months ago

      yes, yes you are. Congrats on making a fool out of yourself boy.


    • Tomislav Vukic
      Tomislav Vukic 2 months ago

      David kid,fuck off ahahahaha hahaha .tipical internet moron .aaaaawwwwwwwww


    • David
      David 2 months ago

      geez kid, you still whining? fuck off


  • 49DRmc
    49DRmc 2 months ago +5

    Do the review with spoilers

  • bop
    bop 2 months ago +1

    Great review! I love the first 2 Alien films, and I'm glad this film goes back to its roots. I'm going to have to check out Prometheus before I see this.

    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      I'd DEFINITELY watch Prometheus before watching this, will definitely help with understanding the plot


    • Red Skunk
      Red Skunk 2 months ago

      It's terrible/awesome. Loved it despite the massive flaws....


  • Demention94
    Demention94 2 months ago +8

    Please to hear this was good! Very excited now! I actually liked Prometheus

    • Stevenson Valentin
      Stevenson Valentin 2 months ago

      Correct commetary..sorry im French

      I've never heard such a stupid criticism. Covenant is a total failure. let me
      Explain. A group of astronauts who decide to skip their way to make a stroll on a planet and know nothing (impossible). This film has no logic. Landed on a planet without protection, touched objects you do not know, go take a bath alone after losing colleagues, accept a story and trust a stranger without asking a real question, follow a stranger in a dark cave after having Seen the unknown speak with an alien, and not to mention that the film does not answer the questions of Prometeus (why the engineer want to kill us) ... so rediculous. Scott takes us for real idiots. If you do not know how to analyze a movie, do not post any video on youtube.


    • Stevenson Valentin
      Stevenson Valentin 2 months ago

      I've never heard such a stupid criticism. Cornering is a total failure. Leave me
      Explain. A group of astronauts who decide to skip their way to make a stroll on a planet and know nothing (impossible). This film has no logic. Landed on a planet without protection, touched objects you do not know, go take a bath alone after losing colleagues, accept a story and trust a stranger without asking a real question, follow a stranger in a dark cave after having Seen that stranger speak with an alien, and not to mention that the film does not answer the questions of Prometeus (why the engineer want to kill us) ... so rediculous. Scott takes us for a real idiot. If you do not know how to analyze a movie, do not post any video on youtube.


    • That Darn Movie Show
      That Darn Movie Show 2 months ago

      What is 'false reviewing'? I'm curious...


    • Radu Blanc
      Radu Blanc 2 months ago

      That Darn Movie Show you shouldn't be on YouTube if you think this movie was good,and I am being nice here you should take it as a honest compliment and close your channel or you will get reported for false reviewing or maybe it's just your opinion about the movie but you are blinded by the devil and he's telling you lies lol


    • Sam Clegg
      Sam Clegg 2 months ago

      Good, that is what I want to hear. I hope we'll get the Aliens Earth War series in the future.


Analyse website