Moto Z vs Moto Z Play Review: Which One Should You Buy?

  • Added:  9 months ago
  • Here's my review of the Moto Z and Moto Z Play. Check out dbrand skins here: http://bit.ly/2dbsTaa

    My Gear: http://kit.com/monizma/my-gear

    Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link:

    Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez
    Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK
    Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU

    Follow me on Social Media:

    Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz
    Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123
    Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com

    Products in this video:
    Moto Z Play - Black - 32GB (U.S. Warranty) - http://amzn.to/2dKYA7e

    Moto Z - Lunar Grey - 64GB (U.S. Warranty) - http://amzn.to/2dIXhea
  • Video CategoriesScience & Technology
  • Runtime: 7:50

Comments: 685

  • محمد العتيق

    ما شاءالله ⁦❤️⁩

  • finchni
    finchni 4 days ago

    whos on the "cant find any good cases for the moto z play" train

  • Maulina Amin
    Maulina Amin 10 days ago

    Snapdragon 625+3510 mah battery+battery mod=monster battery life. Like if you agree

  • jim cherkas
    jim cherkas 14 days ago

    he failed to mention that the JBL speaker also has added battery life so you do get something more than just buying separate speaker

  • Silvie Hafitri
    Silvie Hafitri 16 days ago

    moto z play

  • Ripun Gogoi
    Ripun Gogoi 18 days ago

    how is the gaming experience in moto z play

  • Monique Harris
    Monique Harris 21 day ago

    Just switched to Verizon and was fortunate to get the Play for $5 a month! If that wasn't enough they offered the JBL mod at a $50 discount and the shells for $6. I love this phone!!!!!!!

  • Agnes Victoria
    Agnes Victoria 25 days ago

    Guys which one would you buy? Moto Z, or Moto Z Play? Personally, I love my Moto Z Play. It is reasonably priced and is really quick. I like that the phone is a little bit chunkier because it feels like a more stable phone. Which one would you choose? Comment your choice below.

  • Xervoo
    Xervoo 27 days ago

    I bought a Moto Z for 280€. Can't complain about that. Buying the battery pack with wireless charging and I'm set.

  • Tredon Aldridge
    Tredon Aldridge 28 days ago

    moto Z play for life!!!

  • Le Beauf
    Le Beauf 1 month ago

    I search a phone who are powerful, good battery,good screen and good camera under 400$/€

  • Francisco Venegas jr.

    Moto Z Play has a massive battery and could be had for $5.00 a month from Verizon. Hard to beat that.

  • Dr. Don Sandell
    Dr. Don Sandell 1 month ago

    Moto Z Play here. Android N works flawlessly with no stutter in any app I use. Hats off to Motorola er, Lenovo for great optimization. Battery life is outstanding. I have used quad HD displays phones and quite frankly I'd rather have a full HD display for better battery life, after all it is only a 5.5" display. When I bought mine from Verizon they had knocked down the price to $10 a month for 24 months. So, a great phone for effectively $240 which is a WAY better deal than the plastic Samsung J7 that felt like a burner phone in hand for the same $10 a month!

  • M Powell
    M Powell 1 month ago

    I got this phone Moto z play because of the battery mod, I love this phone. I will be upgrading to the next generation when it comes out

  • kosarkaszee
    kosarkaszee 1 month ago

    Matthew this is very good review, thank you.
    I have one question, I want to buy Z play mostly because baterry life is really good. Camera is not sooo bad, right? And what you think, will Motorola maybe release a update so it could be better?
    Thank you for answer in advance :)

  • Average Jdj
    Average Jdj 1 month ago

    I watched this because I'm getting my Moto Z Play tomorrow

  • tavtel
    tavtel 1 month ago

    Good review. I do have a use for the projector mod...providing it works. I want to demonstrate 360 video using YouTube to a group at a time. I'm assuming that whatever you see on the screen will mimic on the projector. So while showing a 360 video, whether moving the phone or moving the shot on the phone screen, the wall image will do the same. Is that a safe assumption?

  • Frederick Martin
    Frederick Martin 1 month ago

    how to run music without the front creen lit up

  • George Sandoval
    George Sandoval 1 month ago

    On the crowdfunding site Indiegogo, there is a campaign for
    a slider keyboard Moto Mod. This Mod probably answers your
    question as to what kind of must have Mod to get.

  • sarpele romanesc
    sarpele romanesc 1 month ago

    please, can you tell me wich is the best phne under 400$?

  • Yash Goyal
    Yash Goyal 1 month ago

    Z Play

  • Billuca
    Billuca 1 month ago

    I want to buy one of these . But I dont know which one :) please Help me

  • Party over Work
    Party over Work 1 month ago

    Moto Z vs Moto Z Force is the Force again way better. in this video i tought wow, the Z looks good. but the camera in the Z looked bad AF in an other review from Z vs Force.. soo idk

  • CAPTAIN Williams
    CAPTAIN Williams 1 month ago

    I'm gonna get the moto z play it's cheaper and still amazing

  • Entjik Jeffrie
    Entjik Jeffrie 1 month ago

    Thank you for the review Matt! You are 100% correct on the gaming. I owned Moto Z Play & I returned it because games kept crashing. I bought Moto Z with 4GB ram & 64GB storage unlocked version because the price dropped from $699 to $447. The Moto Z performance is a lot faster and games don't crash anymore. I still have the 3 years old iPhone 6 plus which is ok.

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 1 month ago

      +Entjik Jeffrie you're welcome!! I'm glad you're liking the moto z it's a great phone !


  • PraveenKumar A
    PraveenKumar A 1 month ago

    thank you bro ., good video

  • Badr Beyari
    Badr Beyari 1 month ago

    EXTRA THICK

  • Demid Z
    Demid Z 1 month ago

    I usually get 10+ hours of screen on my z play. Thick is why I chose play over the regular z. Also the interface works smooth still.

  • SilverBullet27188
    SilverBullet27188 2 months ago

    What is the audio quality difference between the two phones? I was wondering if Motorola would stuff a DAC into a thicker design?

  • Tech Infinity
    Tech Infinity 2 months ago

    Watching this on my moto x style/pure. Though I'm still on the marshmallow version. Nougat's not out yet, so much for fast updates on moto phone :(

  • Steven Attila
    Steven Attila 2 months ago

    Hi! How about EIS? As I know there is no OIS, but an electronic image stabilization. How shaky are the videos??

  • FGALVANP28
    FGALVANP28 2 months ago

    I know there's one space for a memory card wich I have... and one for a simcard, but there's a third one, it looks like a plastic can be removed.

  • FGALVANP28
    FGALVANP28 2 months ago

    do anybody know if the second space for a sim card works, I can see there's some extra golden metal pins, like if the phone is made for double simcard....

  • Manu Roy
    Manu Roy 2 months ago

    My Moto z play is good in all aspects even in gaming the only issue that I can complain at all is the autofocus delay as you mentioned. It annoys sometimes when we need to take that special moment snap.

  • ace flame
    ace flame 2 months ago

    z Force?

  • I love wall.e
    I love wall.e 2 months ago

    my z play speaker blown out 😣😣😣 don't play rolling sky while the cylinder sound is going

  • Isaac Korff
    Isaac Korff 2 months ago

    I only car about a battery life. It's a fu**ing Phone fist and foremost. Thanks for the review

  • Deepak Aswani
    Deepak Aswani 2 months ago

    I have a moto z play and I love it because its 🔋

  • John Griffith
    John Griffith 2 months ago

    Hi Matthew. Superb review as usual. I have the Z Play and I've had just about every phone out there, including the Z you compared here. The Play is just an outstanding device. One thing no one talks about is call clarity and the best noise cancellation of ANY phone I've ever used. I can drive with the window down, the sun roof open and the person I'm talking to hears only my voice. In comparison, my iPhone 6s work device has mediocre noise cancellation as people complain of background noise in a similar setting. Moto has always nailed call quality and the Z Play just kills it!

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 2 months ago

      +John Griffith thanks John!! That's awesome I'll have to test that out with call quality


  • Dakkaron
    Dakkaron 2 months ago

    Now there is a mod worth buying the phone for: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/keyboard-mod-a-physical-keyboard-for-the-moto-z/x/16211615

    At least for me. I am buying the Z Play as an upgrade from my Motorola Droid 4 because of that keyboard mod.

  • DC3
    DC3 2 months ago

    good review man, subbed. Thinking of getting a Moto z because the price is pretty good right now for the spec, not sure about the getting a white one though because I'm not rich or a pimp why couldn't they just make it silver and white, gold is so tacky.

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 2 months ago

      Thanks man! = ) welcome to the channel!


  • William Calderwood
    William Calderwood 2 months ago

    a really cool mod would be the desktop drop in interface. drop your phone on the plugin module and poof you get keyboard, mouse and desktop running Android/Linux. (Ms is already doing this with their windows phones...soooooo...)

  • Armando Medina
    Armando Medina 2 months ago

    Great review! Very detailed. Thanks for the info. Just subscribed to your channel

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 2 months ago

      You're welcome Armando! Welcome to the channel = )


  • Vinyl Guy
    Vinyl Guy 2 months ago

    I'm using a Moto z play and Its perfect 👍👌

  • Mech0z
    Mech0z 2 months ago

    Should we expect a yearly upgrade of these about august? I value batterylife and can wait a few month if they bring out a new model with 4-6 month

    • Mech0z
      Mech0z 2 months ago

      Got a link?


    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 2 months ago

      Yup! Leaks are already circulating of the next Moto Z Play


  • Shane Kweens
    Shane Kweens 2 months ago

    Receiving my Moto Z Play next week. Can't wait for the killer battery life, zero lag and battery pack option. I'l take that over all brands flagship device any day.

  • Jack AFC
    Jack AFC 2 months ago

    Moto Z for 249€ or the Moto Z Play for 279€ which one should I buy? ATM I have a Huawei P10 but I like the Moto Z and Z Play so much. Please help me.

  • Arjun dwivedi
    Arjun dwivedi 2 months ago

    m using z play haven't face any problem while playing hd games like asphalt,strangers wrath, NFS, Rayman adventure n many more no lag at all.

  • Shane Horne
    Shane Horne 3 months ago

    2630

  • Likhith Rudresh
    Likhith Rudresh 3 months ago

    I just want to know as per overall performanances which is gud ?? moto z or moto z play ??
    waiting to get an answer

  • Rebellion one vlogs
    Rebellion one vlogs 3 months ago

    the moto z droid isnt glass its metal

  • Chao Li
    Chao Li 3 months ago

    "if u don't play games" oh shit. guess it's off my buy list

  • Gordon Yap
    Gordon Yap 3 months ago

    Google took over the project ARA from Motorola and there was no news. Motorola had the prototype running and was shortly taken out. I believe this mods things will work out fine. They had been innovating since donkey years back. I would say the projector thing is one of the most cool thing. The cam mod, I find it too expensive seriously for the kind of price for a mod is too much. Oh yes btw, external storage, is it 256 or 2TB?

  • Lukman Gunawan
    Lukman Gunawan 3 months ago

    nice video...i have moto z play.
    its cool with more battery life.
    if ur gamer. u should buy this.

  • Kuba31 TV
    Kuba31 TV 3 months ago

    Moto Z have a glass back

  • govi
    govi 3 months ago

    The best mod is Keyboard Mod on indiegogo. I hope it'll be successful. I've already backed.

  • Sachin
    Sachin 3 months ago

    how to enable swift keyboard in moto z play ?

  • Tammy Olcikas
    Tammy Olcikas 3 months ago

    any chance you have a review of the moto z play and moto z force together.... deciding between the two is difficult

  • Ankur Sharma
    Ankur Sharma 3 months ago

    Moto Z Play is for me... sent from my Galaxy S6 Edge. I may be a rare one who thinking about moving from Samsung back to Moto.

  • Jorge Vera
    Jorge Vera 3 months ago

    I got the Moto Z Play, and the battery is crazy long with the incipio charging mod! I absolutely love it

  • Jammy_gaming
    Jammy_gaming 4 months ago

    what are those sennheisers in at 1:57

  • Perez Oyemina
    Perez Oyemina 4 months ago

    What you should have said was that the moto z is ridiculously thin, while the moto z play is thin

  • UnZealot
    UnZealot 4 months ago

    Question:  Why did they need to make the Moto Z so thin that the headphone jack wouldn't fit?  Why not just make it thick enough to continue fitting the jack?

  • Damon Smith
    Damon Smith 4 months ago

    Great video. The battery life has steered me into the direction of the Moto Z Play.

  • Nick Salerno
    Nick Salerno 4 months ago

    I have the Moto z play, I honestly love it especially when you upgrade from a iPhone 4s.. the screen is great, the speaker is very loud, and runs on Android great because is was owned by Google, who owns Android... Moto is owned by Lenovo which i feel is the best computer company in the world... I love it and I would recommend it to anybody

    • Nick Salerno
      Nick Salerno 4 months ago

      plus to add on, if you want better camera, there is a mod for that, and if you want more battery there is a mod for that too, and if you want better speaker again a mod for that


  • the king
    the king 4 months ago

    be nice if they had a ham radio mod

  • Harmanpreet Singh
    Harmanpreet Singh 4 months ago

    please tell me prise

  • wmm3
    wmm3 4 months ago

    moronic. instead of worrying about fashion plate put the battery mod on. I use two. and go 36 hours with a lot of mixed use. i love the jbl mod bx if I'm turn that on I'm likely tapping do not disturb. hello date nite. This was a horrible comparison as it ignores the Moto z Force. which has an even better camera and more on board battery than either reviewed​ phone. one last mod note. The hasslblad mod give me a great
    digital SLR and video experience. if you like a customisable experience get Moto Z...I recommend the force edition. u won't need a phone update anytime soon and you get all the mods . this guy should go buy an iPhone where they dictate your experience.

  • Pam Chen
    Pam Chen 4 months ago

    Thanks for sharing.

  • Fred E
    Fred E 4 months ago

    finally got 7.0 on the Play yesterday.

    I have the JBL Soundboost mod. It gives me a slightly longer battery life from the phone's battery not having to drive the speaker.

    • Fred E
      Fred E 4 months ago

      Matthew Moniz Unless you are talking about 7.0. I haven't played around with it too much, but I really like being able to split the screen space. It's a real boon to productivity.


    • Fred E
      Fred E 4 months ago

      Matthew Moniz P.S. It's rather convenient having the soundboost be so pocketable. Big sound, small form.


    • Fred E
      Fred E 4 months ago

      Matthew Moniz It's quite nice. My mother (who doesn't care for smartphones) tells me that it was nice enough that she is considering getting one of her own. The battery life is what really turned her on to this model. She's seen others struggle with a phone that doesn't last the day and didn't want that hassle.


    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 4 months ago

      +Fred E nice!! How you liking it ?


  • Munieli
    Munieli 4 months ago

    moto z costs less than moto z play in my country

  • Shimmy Weiss
    Shimmy Weiss 4 months ago

    I love the Moto z play only the camera is not so good

  • Neil Piar
    Neil Piar 4 months ago

    Google Pixel or Moto Z?

    • Fred E
      Fred E 4 months ago

      Neil Piar Good on you m8.


    • Neil Piar
      Neil Piar 4 months ago

      Ur a day late. I went and got the Pixel. I love it but I live in a cardboard box now, no wifi. Lol.


    • Fred E
      Fred E 4 months ago

      Neil Piar , when I was faced with the same choice I chose the Z Play. My choice was for economic reasons over most other things save that I like the aesthetic of the Z play more than the Pixel. The Pixel is an excellent phone, if money is not an issue then I would go with the Pixel. Though, moto mods won me over in the end.


  • Sanjaya Werta
    Sanjaya Werta 4 months ago

    Mathew.....plaese show me the MotoZ led notification and how to activate it.thx

  • Christine Armstrong
    Christine Armstrong 4 months ago

    I have the moto z play I love it camera and all but, I was told I could only put a 32 MB memory card into it so it's nice to hear that I can have a bigger memory card

  • wolffey214AJ
    wolffey214AJ 4 months ago

    I love the Moto force, it's my favorite phone ever!

  • TriNite
    TriNite 4 months ago

    whats the difference in z play's software than the z

  • Reggie Vanness
    Reggie Vanness 4 months ago

    Very good review i ended up with the Moto Z Force i am really liking this device the battery life is good for a hard day's work that's good enough for me.....

  • Rob Watkins
    Rob Watkins 4 months ago

    Nice review! You talked about the Z Play being much thicker and chunkier than the Z. The Z is 5.2mm thick which is ridiculously thin. The Z Play is 7mm thick and houses a 3510 maH battery. The Z Play is still very slim compared to other devices currently on the market and houses a HUGE battery...I think that bears mentioning...rather than saying it's much thicker then the standard Z. Otherwise you nailed it!

  • Cruise Addiction / Tech

    A friend of mine has this phone she's having trouble with I guess there's a live app we can do live video how do you do it

  • VonDa in Wonderland
    VonDa in Wonderland 4 months ago

    I was wondering if having the speaker on the front changes the sound quality on back video recording? please get back to me. Thank you ♥

  • TheRussianLondoner
    TheRussianLondoner 4 months ago

    Thanks for the video

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 4 months ago

      You're welcome and thanks for watching!


  • RGA Tv
    RGA Tv 4 months ago

    THE BEST REVIEW I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE...

    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 4 months ago

      +RAM GAME ASSIS RGA thanks man! I appreciate it !


  • Connie Somers
    Connie Somers 4 months ago

    I have the Moto z but what one do u like

  • TOP reviews
    TOP reviews 4 months ago

    my Moto z is the best smart phone I had so fare and I had 11

  • bunny creations
    bunny creations 4 months ago

    how to enable wireless display in moto z play to connect my LETV 55 INCH

    Help me Bro

    all Moto devices facing this issue

  • Niidea1986
    Niidea1986 4 months ago

    moto mod$ are fucking expensive.

  • Ben G
    Ben G 5 months ago

    I personally like the Moto z play because I just love its battery life

  • Zachary Young
    Zachary Young 5 months ago

    I have found the Moto Z Play to be very durable compared to apple phones... I have dropped it several times without a scratch or a dent on it and the battery comes in handy when i forget to charge it the night before

  • Jackson Mack Mack
    Jackson Mack Mack 5 months ago

    I have the z play and I have to say I personally am satisfied with its camera quality

  • VoloKin Project
    VoloKin Project 5 months ago

    Excellent comparison, cheers mate!

  • Shahed Rasul
    Shahed Rasul 5 months ago

    Does motor z play sopport sdcard adapt options

  • Yuki Kawai
    Yuki Kawai 5 months ago

    I bought moto Z

    • Yuki Kawai
      Yuki Kawai 5 months ago

      I just bought yesterday, so didn't touch it actually. But I thought it's cheap for it's spec, US $380 on ebay (64GB, like new).
      It might beat Google Pixel. Also I'm impressed with Moto Mods idea, and I'm looking for Project Tango for future.


    • Matthew Moniz
      Matthew Moniz 5 months ago

      +Yuki Kawai nice how are you liking it?


  • Michael Angelo Marucot

    i really want one. how can i? 😐

  • Niels Junker
    Niels Junker 5 months ago

    hi great video I can't not chose with phone to buy between Oneplus 3t or Moto z play?

  • John McRae
    John McRae 5 months ago

    I just got the Moto Z play a couple days ago because my LG v10 just crapped out on me (yay LG boot loop defect caused by poor soc cooling). There are some things I'm gonna miss from the v10; didn't realize how much i liked the second screen and I still wanted a removable battery but didn't want to risk another lg with potentially the same issue. I don't really game any on my phone so standard multitasking and app switching is all that really mattered to me which the play handles fine. I also figured the trade off for battery life on the play would be better since it doesn't have a removable battery. I have a 6s+ from work and its 1080 display seems to be good enough for me so losing qhd wasn't too big a deal and it also means more battery life. yesterday I used the play under typical load for me, installed the recent update from verizon, and still had about 40-50% battery when I went to bed like 18 hours later; not sure what actual screen on time was but I think I'm gonna like this phone. I also don't mind the slight extra bulk; I actually don't like the super thin trend with phones right now

  • Jay Mcfarland
    Jay Mcfarland 5 months ago

    I still use my original Droid Turbo and I swear it's about as good as most of the so called flagships out there today and this is all from a 2014 phone. Snapdragon 805, 21mp main camera, 2mp secondary camera, 64gb of space, 3 (or 4)GB RAM, quad HD display. Running Android 6.1 and still holds its own with battery life. If it wasn't for the hairline crack in the screen, I wouldn't even be looking at new phones.

  • Aisha Ahmed
    Aisha Ahmed 5 months ago

    I like my moto z play beside my iphone it's really very good phone and the best thing is the battery I was confused with moto z and moto z play but in the end I decided to go for moto z play

  • Tobías Brynleifsson
    Tobías Brynleifsson 5 months ago

    As always a very good video thanks! Like both phones!

Analyse website