The Dress: Now with Peer-Reviewed Science!

  • Added:  4 months ago
  • SciShow is nominated for a Webby!
    Vote for us!
    vote.webbyawards.com/PublicVoting#/2017/film-video/video-channels-and-networks/science-education-channels-and-networks

    Researchers have an idea about how your lifestyle affects the way you see the dress, and we've identified a new ancestor to the dinosaurs!

    Hosted by: Olivia Gordon
    ----------
    Support SciShow by becoming a patron on Patreon: www.patreon.com/scishow
    ----------
    Dooblydoo thanks go to the following Patreon supporters—we couldn't make SciShow without them! Shout out to Kevin Bealer, Mark Terrio-Cameron, KatieMarie Magnone, Patrick Merrithew, Charles Southerland, Fatima Iqbal, Benny, Tim Curwick, Scott Satovsky Jr, Philippe von Bergen, Bella Nash, Bryce Daifuku, Chris Peters, Patrick D. Ashmore, Charles George, Bader AlGhamdi
    ----------
    Looking for SciShow elsewhere on the internet?
    Facebook: www.facebook.com/scishow
    Twitter: www.twitter.com/scishow
    Tumblr: scishow.tumblr.com
    Instagram: instagram.com/thescishow
    ----------
    Sources:
    jov.arvojournals.org/article.aspx?articleid=2617976
    www.nyu.edu/about/news-publications/news/2017/april/why-did-we-see-_the-dress-differently--the-answer-lies-in-the-sh.html
    nature.com/articles/doi:10.1038/nature22037
    press.nature.com/?post_type=press_release&p=77293
    eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2017-04/vt-vts040717.php
    palaeo.gly.bris.ac.uk/communication/boulton/archosaur.html

    Images:
    commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Hot_air_balloon_-_color_constancy.jpg
    commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Yellow-billed_stork_kazinga.jpg
  • EducationEducation
  • Runtime: 4:55
  • SciShow  science  Hank  Green  education  learn  olivia gordon  The Dress: Now with Peer-Reviewed Science!  the dress  black and blue  white and gold  color constancy  shadow  light  white balance  artificial light  sunlight  archosaurs  crocodiles  birds  teleocrater rhadinus  skeleton  fossil  aphansauria  ancestor  

Comments: 2 108

  • AA Productions
    AA Productions 6 days ago

    House lights have changed and are more blueish, or call it daylight balanced.
    Because I am so not an early riser, and still said it looked white and gold and was in shade.

  • Sazy Plew
    Sazy Plew 7 days ago

    I see both sets of color combinations; time of day and device used to view doesn't seem to impact/predict which set I perceive. There's been times where I "see" a shift in color, right before my eyes; if I didn't know any better I'd call it magic. I do experience bouts of worse sleep and wonder if my poor sleep influences the varying color detection.

  • ElJohnerino
    ElJohnerino Month ago

    Amy Farrah Fowler. That is all.

  • Anna LEE
    Anna LEE Month ago

    I am an early morning person and I see black and blue. My mother is a night owl and she sees white and gold??

  • smokyp3nguin
    smokyp3nguin 2 months ago

    OR...

    People with higher IQs stay up later, and tend to stay indoors.

  • Casey Jewels
    Casey Jewels 2 months ago

    I'm a night owl and I see it as white and gold.

  • RedSkyOG
    RedSkyOG 2 months ago

    Oh ffs there's two dresses

  • Abhishek Dhiman
    Abhishek Dhiman 3 months ago +1

    I am a night owl and I see bluish white and dirty gold :/

  • A.S.A.
    A.S.A. 3 months ago

    "god dammit" science. .. I still see it now a pale blue with a brownish color as the first time I've seen it... so what I'm the X- percent freak now?

  • Douglas Fulmer
    Douglas Fulmer 3 months ago

    It's blue and gold -_-

  • LolaAphelion 12
    LolaAphelion 12 3 months ago

    I see it as Blue and Gold....

  • LUchesi
    LUchesi 3 months ago

    The dress may be black and blue but the picture is dingy orange/brown and murky, hued gray.

  • Cute Killer Neko
    Cute Killer Neko 3 months ago

    I see a baby blue and gold

  • Michael D'Augustine
    Michael D'Augustine 3 months ago

    Despite what people think they see, the original designers of the dress said it is actually blue and black. They only created one white and gold dress to be sold at a charity auction and only after the photo became viral.

  • VAPX007
    VAPX007 3 months ago

    Morning/night but they didn't ask about party after dark/camera in their lifestyle? I'm guessing if you take a lot of pictures esp at night you'd get back to the black pretty easy. My brain's interpretation stops at the screen. The picture came out dirty blue and dirty brown/gold. I can't appreciate it as a blue and black dress because the photo is rubbish.

  • Abdelhak Chaker
    Abdelhak Chaker 3 months ago

    They only took 2 years to study an image?

  • Inbasagar nadar
    Inbasagar nadar 3 months ago

    Kids : Gold & white
    Men : Gold & light blue
    Legend : Black & blue

  • Kristopher G
    Kristopher G 3 months ago

    haha u guys and your bullshit macro evolution. there should be millions and millions of transitional fossils! there's none though...

  • DragonofEpics
    DragonofEpics 3 months ago

    I don't know what everyone was talking about when they said white and gold or blue and black. I saw and still see blue and gold.

    • DragonofEpics
      DragonofEpics 3 months ago

      I guess it makes sense I like to stay up late and wake up early. I'm always tired.


  • Rafael Rincón
    Rafael Rincón 3 months ago

    "The statistics seem to back up their hypothesis." Would it really have been that hard to throw some numbers on the screen or mention what the strength of the correlation was?

  • Walter Alvarenga
    Walter Alvarenga 3 months ago

    this uptalker is killing me! i cant finish this video.

  • queentessential
    queentessential 3 months ago

    I see blue and gold...? Explain that.

  • boome56
    boome56 3 months ago

    Can you guys answer this question why do birds have backward knees

  • Michael Lee
    Michael Lee 3 months ago

    I saw both.

  • Nic G
    Nic G 3 months ago

    and why are we wasting money on this?

  • rizqi arga
    rizqi arga 3 months ago

    did she talk about dinosaur??

  • DeMarcus Erranos
    DeMarcus Erranos 3 months ago

    their first video on this claimed it was white and gold but the dress is actually blue and black

  • Patrick
    Patrick 3 months ago

    When I first saw it I saw blue and gold so what does this mean...

  • Zoe Heaton
    Zoe Heaton 3 months ago

    i always have natural light cuz the only light i see at night is scishow

  • Imms
    Imms 3 months ago

    Am I the only one who sees the dress as blue and gold?

  • EllieLulu EllieLu
    EllieLulu EllieLu 3 months ago

    I see a dark gold and blue, I assume I am alone, I cannot see black in it, but I can see how some people see white

  • Flare
    Flare 3 months ago

    Im a night owl and i see white and gold

  • Maximus Joseppi
    Maximus Joseppi 3 months ago

    except the dress was factually blue and black.... so the other idiots are just wrong..... that simple.

  • cloudstrife4534/Maysayer

    The picture that makes people see white and gold is actually just very over saturated. My mom is a photographer, and I wanted to follow in her footsteps when I was a kid. But I was terrible at it at first, so I saw a lot of over saturated pictures. They do make it questionable what the colors are supposed to be, if you don't have context. But if you look at the picture of the dress that's clearly blue and black(and for anyone that says that photo was artificially re-colored and shopped, I'll keep that in mind too.) it makes it easier to see the perceived white and gold dress as black and blue, but very saturated. But if the people who think the clearly black and blue image was re-colored are correct, then that is a whole other situation, since that would mean the context of the original image before over saturation is missing.

    All that said, I don't think a predilection for night or day have anything to do with this, but it's an interesting study!

  • Steven Winters
    Steven Winters 3 months ago

    What does it mean when it changes colors on you! I started this video and it was white and gold, then I started the video over and its black and blue now! wtf?

  • I'm Blue
    I'm Blue 3 months ago

    i can't see black and blue at all.

  • Korn Queen
    Korn Queen 3 months ago

    When I first saw the dress it was white and gold. The next time I looked it was black and blue. And I have never seen it white and gold again. Makes me crazy!

  • Shafwan Dito
    Shafwan Dito 3 months ago

    I don't get how the freak people seeing White and Gold while it's clearly Blue and Black?! all of my family member and most of my cousin sees it Blue and Black and only 2 cousins see Gold and White... I'm still trying to find out how the freak they see it that way (Gold and White).

  • Taylor Miller
    Taylor Miller 3 months ago

    What if I literally saw the dress change from white and gold to blue and black? Like I thought it was a gif because it changed colors before my eyes but it was only a picture?

  • DontMockMySmock
    DontMockMySmock 3 months ago

    The dress ACTUALLY IS black and blue, by the way. It's in artificial light and the black is all washed out and looks brownish, and if you brain-correct that the wrong way it looks kind of goldish I guess.

  • taylor maclean
    taylor maclean 3 months ago

    I go to bed at 10 and wake up at 7 and I see it as blue and brown...

  • BZAKether
    BZAKether 3 months ago

    In something completely unrelated, I find Olivia hot, but she seems too anxious and doesn't know what to do with her hands.

  • BZAKether
    BZAKether 3 months ago

    @#~~€¬ªª!!! Last year the dress was white and gold and this year is black and blue?

  • Shawn Wesley
    Shawn Wesley 3 months ago

    Honestly, I still don't believe the dress is "really blue and black". The only supposed evidence of this is all text or word based -- people _claiming_ what the real color is, so just trust them on it. Or a completely different picture that could easily be unrelated to the first. Maybe if there was a video showing it going from the apparently super over-exposed lighting (that turns black into yellow and medium tan) into softer lighting and then shadow... well then maybe the "illusion" would break.

    Now for the record, I do prefer natural light -- and that's why I've removed every single yellow/amber lightbulb (called "Soft White") and replaced them with "daylight" hued bulbs. Therefore I'm sure my reflexive internal "white balance" is calibrated to natural light. But I feel that people who truly believe the yellow/tan hues to in fact be black must live in caves with nothing but candles and bonfires for light sources. Or maybe they use only those yellow "bug-repellent" bulbs and so they're completely used to seeing a washed-out yellow filter over everything. I mean, I know my boss likes his bulbs to be that sickly yellow color and has on occasion mistaken white paper for blue when lit by sunlight or the whiter lights in the area where I work.

  • ZozziGames
    ZozziGames 3 months ago

    But ... What if you see it as blue and a dark gold/almost green?

  • nosuchthing8
    nosuchthing8 3 months ago

    A better point, if you are chasing a particular animal in a herd, you need to keep after the same one. color constancy. Same if you are being chased by a pack of wolves.

  • Tjmcnee
    Tjmcnee 3 months ago

    I see White and Gold!

  • Cristian Micu
    Cristian Micu 3 months ago

    Am I the only one around here that sees the dress Blue and Gold?

  • delusionnnnn
    delusionnnnn 3 months ago

    So did this peer-reviewed science survey a bunch of people who looked at the image on the computers and devices that the viewers owned and the scientists had no control over, or did they look at the image on devices that the researchers controlled? If it's not the latter, I see no value in the research. In my experience, most people who are not involved in pre-press graphics have their monitor settings set very inaccurately. Only people who actually have to have colours correct on their monitors as part of their job generally have remotely correct settings - not too vivid, the contrast not set too high, the temperature not set wonky.

  • oneMeVz
    oneMeVz 4 months ago

    Ok, my hypothesis on this dress is that people who still don't realise it's black and blue have never learned colour & light theory or failed to from art class or just daily observation.
    Also, some others and some of the same people are oblivious to photo filters, because they see the colours as they actually are in the picture rather than seeing through the photo filter trickery.

  • LiquidFairy Berg
    LiquidFairy Berg 4 months ago

    every smart people see that its blue and black but manipulated light on it that makes the colours dull... im a night owl

  • Aella Lee
    Aella Lee 4 months ago

    Oh, this might be why florists and flower providers get angry with each other over colours. Flower providers work early in the morning, and florists often work late and get really angry for getting flowers that we don't think match what they are asking for.

  • awesome gaming
    awesome gaming 4 months ago

    This is stupid the answer is that it was photoshoped over and over

  • premier69
    premier69 4 months ago

    thumbs up on this video, but she is the least likable of them

  • Luke Gadbois
    Luke Gadbois 4 months ago

    I'm a night owl and I only ever saw the color scheme in the middle of the three. the pale blue and Gray goldish one.

  • Alvi Hossain
    Alvi Hossain 4 months ago

    Well it's clearly black and blue no matter what colour you are used to

  • eva colher
    eva colher 4 months ago

    im an early riser and i see the dress as blue and black, and my sister (a night owl) sees it as white and gold...

  • Daniel Derhund
    Daniel Derhund 4 months ago

    arrived a day too late to vote

  • princeofexcess
    princeofexcess 4 months ago

    Wouldnt it be a bad study because it had way too many variables so you are bound to find one positive results. Similar to the chocolate helping you loose weight study....
    Sci show should really at least mention this.

  • BillCosbyEatsBabies
    BillCosbyEatsBabies 4 months ago

    who could ever tell what color it is with it being such a low quality grainy piece of crap? i dont understand where the controversy comes from.

  • DECEARING EGG
    DECEARING EGG 4 months ago

    I'm more of a night owl and I saw the dress as blue and gold. Well then.

  • Out Of Place Ninja
    Out Of Place Ninja 4 months ago

    The dress is black and blue and that's that. There is no white or gold on the dress. Anyone who sees such needs their eyes checked. The only reason this "blew up" is because a lot of people have screwed up perceptions of color.

  • Sinwhisper
    Sinwhisper 4 months ago

    It's clearly black and white.




    I'm colorblind.

  • The YouTube Phantom Official

    I think it's two different dresses.

  • Nick McEachern
    Nick McEachern 4 months ago

    Sorry Scishow. I did not vote for you as it's the 21st now and I've been gaming and drumming.. and drinking. But, I would have voted for you *thumbs up*

  • Cici Anonymous
    Cici Anonymous 4 months ago

    It's blue and gold.

  • Bismuth LD
    Bismuth LD 4 months ago

    I see it as black and blue, but I stay up late, I only get up early when my alarm sounds

  • Preston Estes
    Preston Estes 4 months ago

    I'm a night owl and I see the dress as blue and black.

  • Gon Kreicy
    Gon Kreicy 4 months ago

    I see Blue-pink and gold, I may be fucked up

  • Darthos3
    Darthos3 4 months ago

    The theory somewhat explains why blue is the last color to get a word in ancient languages, since firelight and sunlight were the only sources of usable light at that time.

  • Miss Sunkissed
    Miss Sunkissed 4 months ago

    Love his lady and her waist wiggle.. very cute. 😊

  • zashbot
    zashbot 4 months ago

    hey as anyone ever thought that the people who see the dress as black and gold just have that thing that changes their screen temp during the night?

  • Whatster87
    Whatster87 4 months ago

    its blue and black so many color blind people

  • Ethan Huyck
    Ethan Huyck 4 months ago

    I see blue and gold

  • Virtuoso
    Virtuoso 4 months ago

    All I see is a white and gold dress in a shaded area. Didn't know naming the colors of an object was rocket science.

  • Precision Gaming
    Precision Gaming 4 months ago

    it's blue and black

  • Alan Lara
    Alan Lara 4 months ago

    The reason people still watch different colors is simply because there are different pictures of the same dress on the web.

  • Alan Lara
    Alan Lara 4 months ago

    That can only be appreciated in person. When in my computer Coral Draw and Photoshop says the same, in other words: it is just another viral picture made important by the story behind it. LOL common sense! hahaha hah

  • ryan day
    ryan day 4 months ago

    So.. I I've always seen blue and gold and I've never understood how people saw the other two options. WTF does that say about my brain or lifestyle?

  • Holocene Mammal
    Holocene Mammal 4 months ago

    That woman has an annoying voice.

  • Stradz
    Stradz 4 months ago +3

    Why am I the only one that can see *BLUE AND GOLD ?*

    • Henry
      Henry 4 months ago

      Noo lol i think ur alone


  • Glasses&Tea
    Glasses&Tea 4 months ago

    I remember the lifestyle argument about the dress a few days after the dress came out.

  • Erikka
    Erikka 4 months ago

    When I wear my glasses, I see the dress as white and gold, but when I take off my glasses, it looks more blue and black. Similarly to the redless strawberries photo, with my glasses, the strawberries seem a little red; without them, the strawberries look gray.

  • Cerci ^-^
    Cerci ^-^ 4 months ago

    fuck but I love ted ed and SciShow ;-;

  • Richard Lane
    Richard Lane 4 months ago

    im almost positive it has nothing to do with sleeping habits...

  • deezynar
    deezynar 4 months ago

    I notice that she never said what the colors in the computer image file ACTUALLY ARE.  I don't care what somebody thinks they see, except to have a laugh at them, I only care about what the colors REALLY ARE.  That way I can tell if there is something wrong with my vision, or my brain's interpetation of what my eyes are gathering and signalling on to my brain.

  • ramie1498
    ramie1498 4 months ago

    I swear I'm the only one who sees it as blue and green. What does that way about me? Lol

  • Kusthah
    Kusthah 4 months ago

    Museo Argentino de Ciencias Naturales :D

  • verg nujum
    verg nujum 4 months ago

    I see blue and gold

  • Azzi's Creations
    Azzi's Creations 4 months ago

    I'm a night owl but i see it as gold and white,,

  • Ken O
    Ken O 4 months ago

    I guess I'm middle of the road, with that dress. I see light blue and beige.

  • Goligos
    Goligos 4 months ago +1

    I'm colorblind :/

  • Amethyst Orchard
    Amethyst Orchard 4 months ago

    It is grayish blue and yellowish brown for me because I been working with digital art a lot. I ignore the lighting and call the colors by its RGB value. If anyone copy that photo to photoshop and use the eyedropper to pick the colors... it does goes into the blue and yellow spectrums. :)

  • Majda Belhamissi
    Majda Belhamissi 4 months ago

    Am I the only one who sees it black and blue and then white and gold? It's like a chameleon, the colors don't stop changing every time I see it

  • Monkey Wrench
    Monkey Wrench 4 months ago

    I feel like this should do a better job explaining that dress. This is scishow after all.

  • Rachel Reviello
    Rachel Reviello 4 months ago

    This is so funny. I saw Black and Blue (I'm currently watching this video at 2am) and asked my roommate when this came out (an early riser) and she said White and Gold.

  • poli6ady
    poli6ady 4 months ago

    oh my god, it's white and gold.. get over it!

  • Da Dapper Donut Dork
    Da Dapper Donut Dork 4 months ago

    am i the only one who can transition between both colors

  • Rubega Musik
    Rubega Musik 4 months ago +1

    Tanzania

  • poephila
    poephila 4 months ago

    43% Scishow, 43% Ted-ed. Come on guys, go vote they deserve it!!

Analyse website